Today I Was Given This…

[Kreative-Blogger.jpg]

award by William, who writes such lovely socially conscious poetry.  You all know how much I appreciate anything that draws attention to the suffering of others and William’s words are meaningful and have impact.  Visit this wonderful writer blogger and you will see what I mean.

Now, The seven things no one knows about me.

1. I was on a wanted poster on the wall of fame/shame in Walmart for fleeing a dangerous and intolerable situation in a foreign country.  The Hague Convention is corrupt.  I won.  Nuff said.  🙂

2. I’ve been on television four times at different intervals in my life.

3. I love cats, tigers, lions, cougars, lynx, my cat Sparkey etc. I LOVE cats.

4. I’ve nearly drown three times.

5. I’ve chipped a tooth, broken my collar bone, broken my finger, broken my toe and broken my nose, all in childhood.

6. I love astronomy and especially anything to do with supernovas.

7. I don’t smoke or drink alcohol.  I used to but I stopped when I turned thirty and decided to grow up.

Okay, seven bloggers.  Well I don’t have quite seven but I will do my best. Actually, this fits in with something I’ve wanted to do anyway.  There are some bloggers I’ve recently discovered and it helps me share them with you.

1. opoetoo is a very cool find.  His poetry is deep and different.  He has a very intelligent poetic perspective and he is quirky and very original.  You will love his stuff.

2. poettraveller is into anything with words as the substance.  He is a very introspective writer who is so varied in his subject matter that there is something verbally tasty for every reader.  He is also a great lover of rhyme and he is not afraid to show it dammit!  lol This is why I am addicted to reading his work.  It is Grade A stuff, people.

3. Dr. B, is for you if you love bluegrass, the wisdom in simplicity, a good yarn that is based in some common sense truth and a trip to a better place in a happier era.  I adore him.  Yes, he is really a doctor, yes he plays bluegrass and yes he has written a book.  He is overflowing with some wonderful tales so take your tail over there and read this man who is bluegrass cool.

4. kseverny is a chef, he plays guitar, he writes poetry and he is damn funny on top of all that.  He is indescribable, so you know you just have to go there and see for yourself.  Utterly cutting edge type of artist and an original.

5. hiddenamongroots is an artist.  No, he’s not just an artist, he is a wonderful artist who creates work that still has me slinking away in total shame to doodle my silly cartoons.  This man is the real deal and if you are at all ( and I know you are) affected by the work of a visual artist, then you MUST see his stuff.  There is this one drawing that still has me captivated but if you want to see it you have to go and look!  🙂

Okay, I’m out of people.  I’ve shown my award love before you see and now I’ve given it all away.  🙂

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

20 thoughts on “Today I Was Given This…”

    1. Thank you Cin, for checking out the people I listed. Sometimes there are precious gems to be found in the blogosphere, like your blog! 🙂

    1. LOL you are the only one to say something about the poster. If I had ever courted desires to attain fame, they are now cast aside permanently. You just can’t buy that kind of publicity ya know! Seriously Jessie, it was the most shocking feeling to see your face on one of those. Humour has cured my rage at the faulty legal machine that put it there. Go figure, I finally get to Time Square and they use the ugly picture with the bad haircut. 😉

  1. In response to #3, recognize that now I have four inside cats. Buddy, Holly, Tidbit, and the latest, an inheritance from my father, a cat named after a drag queen from the movie “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil,” Lady Chablis. She’s seven months old and sleeps on my chest.

    I am the Litter Box Queen.

    1. Well, I must disagree vehemently Dearest Bryan, because you see, I’ve been changing a litter box since I was twelve. I’m now forty seven and that means I’ve got thirty five years of tiger turd removal, which makes me a veteran. My first cat lived to eighteen and weighed twenty two pounds. His name was Big Moe. Then there was Fussy-Lou, cupcake, Roger, Pish Pish, Spunky, Muscles and of course, my boy Sparkey. I love that name Lady Chablis and your dad sounds like he was my kind of guy, a cat lover and a wonderful dad. Give Buddy, Holly, Tidbit and baby Lady Chablis each a kiss for me. Damn I bet you’ve spoiled them rotten. 🙂

  2. Yay – new people to corrupt. I’ll be visiting your choices soon and will pass my own judgment. 🙂 Which means I’ll leave them many comments and they will instantly love me, of course.

  3. awe Val im blushing lol, how kind, wow you have led a very interesting life lol, maybe I can write a short story about you lol, seriously this is a great award for such a great person and u deserve it, proudly showing on your blog, hope u will still speak to us minions lol now you are an award winner..lol take care and keep being the sunshine in a lot of lives xx

    1. Hi William, no need to blush. Yes, interesting is one way of putting it, my life that is. I’ve already started ‘the book’ about many of the things that have happened to or around me. You are no minion William, you are a poet and writer and everyone who puts their soul into the written word has something important to tell the world about how they perceive it. I’ll try to do some sunny things and thank you again, you are a good soul. 🙂

  4. You are very kind.

    I really enjoyed the seven secrets.

    Here are some of mine:

    for $1, in the same place at various times I:

    1 rode an elephant
    2 saw Bonnie and Clyde’s car & Hitler’s car
    3 touched the ice over a frozen caveman

  5. Val,

    I’ve had a few paychecks as a writer, but this means more. I am humbled.

    Back when I was a kid I was a fair golfer. We all wanted to win the ‘County,’ our local tournament, more than anything in the world. The reason was not because it was the U.S. Open or anything, but because it meant your people knew you could play.

    When a fellow writer recognizes you, it’s like winning the County, and that is big, ’cause it’s your people in the writer community.

    Thanks so much Val,

    Dr. B

    1. Dr. B, you impress me with your skill as a writer and your humanity. If this is like winning the ‘county’, then that makes me smile today. 🙂

    1. I’ve answered it with my next post kseverny! My apologies for omitting the most important part. If they gave out a blogger Duh award I would now be getting that! 🙂

  6. Val:

    Your 7 things people don’t know truly tickled me,
    you are funny and sunny….

    I tried not to repeat nominations, thus missed you on the award, hope that you understand.

    You deserve the award more than anyone else.
    Happy For You. 🙂

    1. Hi Jingle, I don’t take offense to much so don’t worry! You also deserve the award because you are truly and inspiring individual. 🙂

Leave a Reply

