Mad July

The trees were barking about the incongruity of weather stripping

them of their leaf and vein, limb and trunk

while flies buzzed about in hazy lazy circles drunk

on sun ย soaked garden paths leaking lemon yellow colour

into shadowed grassy pools

Honeybees stated their case from the window box

confessing to more sweet and colourful desires

while the idiot laughing crow braved the highest wire

tap dancing to the jazzy electric blue suede

shoes that made no sound at all

The gentle wind kicked up a screaming chorus

of one hot scorcher in mad July

while canine breathed a solemn sigh

with one ear open and both ears closed

the panting guard was mean but down

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

20 thoughts on “Mad July”

  1. this is my favorite poem you have posted Val. Wonderful images and you know I love when the rhyme doesn’t hit me over the head ๐Ÿ˜‰ that’s one i think you should send around!

    1. Jessie, I think I will do that, send it out, because if nothing else, it’s actually ‘doing’ something in a forward motion. Besides, that crow needs some serious attention! lol

  2. I’m thinking of two of my favorite poets here – Sylvia Plath and Emily Dickinson. I like the images here, especially the idiot laughing crow and the secret desires of the bees. Summer is calling to you from out of the ice and snow,huh?

    1. Oh, it’s not only calling to me Lisa, it’s screaming and it has me by the ankle! Brrrr, it’s cold here! WOW, Plath and Dickinson? I need to work a lot harder to earn your praise I think. Thank you for what is probably the best compliment I’ve ever received.

  3. I love the words and imagery you’ve chosen to use. At one point, it reminded me of some of the Native American oral poetry I studied in the distant past… especially the way you personify crow. Poor crow, he never gets a break. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Very perceptive Tel, that crow was taken directly from an experience I had on the rez when I lived there. I hated crows for a long time for reasons that are unexplainable, but since then I’ve come to appreciate their keen intelligence and I have some sympathy for the rampant ‘crow hatred’ lol Lots of people hate them and harbour terrible fear. There is an old poem about them, I’ll post it in a minute. Thank you for liking my journey through July. hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hi, how are you?

    I am doing Thursday Poets’ Rally,
    to participate, post a poem today, and try to comment on 12 different blogs you have never commented before…

    let me know in my blog if you prefer not to join in…
    I already have your link included in my blog today.

    Keep up your Excellence.
    have An Awesome Day.

    1. I will participate next Thursday Jingle, life is hectic lately, but I look forward to it and it sounds fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. It’s so damn cold out now William, I needed to visit the month of July somehow! Hey, if you take a glass half full look at the weather situation, we really only have two months of winter left and only four months until the first of July! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi annie, welcome to my tiny spec in the universe and thank you for reading a appreciating my words. I hope you come back again! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks Mark, for liking my feeble attempt at imagery and for appreciating my overt attempt at rhyme! lol I hope that flesh would from the knife is better and that Mr. Nowlan helped ease the pain of Cohenitis. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you Kevin! I’ve been craving the sun and summer so I may inundate you guys with more of this seasonal stuff. Dear god, when is winter going to end?!

  5. you have gotten this very creative juice flowing,
    WORDS such as screaming, confessing, kicking, buzzing, all put me in motion and I am in with you, completely.

    Val, Beautiful Poem,
    Animated Images. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I added you to my favorite poet list,
    which is published on January 6, 2010,
    titled as

    “2010 little mittens fit 1005 Cute Kittens”.
    We Are A Team.

Leave a Reply

