A Trip Down Memory Lane With Some Older Verse

Wandering

I once met a raindrop

And followed it home

But it gave me the slip

And left me alone

So I sat by a river

Trembling with fear

Comforted only

By one tiny tear

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Flat

I could stretch myself elastic band thin

This panorama of my soul your horizon line

Waves of painful  seas swelling against permanence

Sand and time defining my presence in your life

A thousand suns dipping beneath me

Rising above me

Over and over

back and forth

Until you realize

I don’t make this world flat

You do

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Was/Is

It’s still there

It always will be

The birthplace  of the everlasting sun

Sighing in an azure sky

Where the stars caress the earth

And the moonbeams kiss the sea

It’s still there

It always will be

What was

Is

Eternally existent

Like a million breathing versions of you and me

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

21 thoughts on “A Trip Down Memory Lane With Some Older Verse”

  1. I think I remember these, but I still find the first one absolutely charming. However, this line captured me:
    “Where the stars caress the earth
    And the moonbeams kiss the sea”

    That,my dear, is poetic perfection.

    1. Thank you Lisa, but I have far to go to reach the level of beautiful imagery you pack into your poems. You truly are someone against whom I measure my work. 🙂

  2. Wow Val, what could I possibly add that has not already been said. ‘Wandering’ is an awesome piece, the consolation of a single tear is so painfully beautiful. ‘Flat’ and ‘Was / Is’ are equally wonderful and give great food for thought.

    1. Thank you Mark, it’s very cool when other poets and writers can see what I was trying to accomplish with the words. Sometimes tears can be consoling as well as cleansing.

    1. Hi Sheila, it’s good to see you here again and if this makes you want to read a book, then that is outstanding! Thank you for liking my poems

  3. Hi val, cant understand why I did not add this blog to my rol, all done now.. soz about that, first off THANK YOU, for your special comments which I am sure may help some unfortunate boy or girl in that scenario, now lol your poem, beautiful, very high imagery packed poem, loved it to bits….. u take care…

    1. Hi William, thank you for adding me and you earned those comments because what you wrote was full of goodness and compassion and well executed. Thank you for liking my work as well. 🙂

    1. It’s all good Jingle! I wish I was nimble as a bird, perhaps when I start running again in the spring and drop the weight I gained over Christmas I’ll be worthy of that description. 🙂

  4. gorgeous, yes, I love this collection.
    Thank you for sharing.

    PS: if you could please pay my friends sheila, William, and Gerardine a visit, that would be awesome. They are my friends who come to you the other day.

    I know you will do eventually, forgive me if you feel offended.

    Awesome poems, Val! 🙂

    1. Hi Jingle, Oh, I’ve been visiting and if you look on my blogroll, you will see their names as well as your own. 🙂

    1. LOL, that line is starting to grow on me because I’ve grown twenty pounds fatter over the holidays Jessie! Some nice elastic is a good thing once in a while.

    1. Thank you Anne! That little poem has a charm about it and I may just do something with it. You, Tel and poettraveller have made my day. HUGS

    1. I am thrilled you also liked the first one poettraveler, as I said to Tel, it was my favourite. I’ve been to our site as you will see and your work is utterly remarkable. You have some extraordinary verse, and I get the natural vibe from it, that it is second nature for you to write them. That’s rare. Thank you for visiting me and for adding me to your blogroll, consider it reciprocal. 🙂

      1. Thank you so much Val. Here’s a copy of one of my replies to you (over on my pages):


        “Hi Val – thank you so much for what you say! You are very generous and kind in your appraisal and I’m grateful for this and honored by your praise. I’m able to write ‘free verse’ poetry, there are one or two examples of this among the many poems I have written, but nearly all of my poems are in rhyming form and it’s something I love to do. Thanks again Val, I’ll be following your pages and hope we keep in touch”

        —–

        I’m glad we have made contact, Val. I’m looking forward to reading more of your outstanding, beautiful, poetry.

        – John 🙂

  5. These are all great, but I especially love the first one, just because I’m a sucker for the personification of inanimate objects. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

