Whatever You Do/Eat/Think/Believe…

enjoy your day/days off.  Just to show you I’m in some sort of holiday spirit (actually, I’m a heathen and a scrooge who doesn’t believe in much but what I can see) I’ve been out and about today downtown in this odd city on this odd island full of odd people.  Yes, you guessed it didn’t you?  PHOTOS!  hehehe…Why tarry, lets get down to business shall we?

A store display to give you the warm and fuzzies. Okay, I admit it, it worked, I felt warm and fuzzy. Pretend you never read that. :0
My daughter found this the other day and I just had to get a shot of it before they wash it away. This is poetry. It can be interpreted in many ways. See? Poetry isn't dead, it's everywhere.
Not to be outdone, another poet decided to share their truth down a side street on the way to the wharf. Interesting to find this written on a wall on Xmas eve. Sad, any day of the year if you ask me.
I bet a lot of this was guzzled while people maxed out the credit cards and shopped in a desperate frenzy.
"light, as a snowflake" See? I'm a poet too. Yuk Yuk Yuk 😉
A wreath, just for you...well you and every other person who saw this store window.
I'll bet you didn't know that the three wise men were actually following THIS star on Signal Hill. 😉
Lights, for you and everyone else on our street. Our neighbors do love to put on the display and it is beautiful. 🙂
Posters in a window. Dickens saves the holiday season for me once again.
Gothic, dark and forboding, but somehow festive. Dickens would approve.
Feeling flakey?
Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

17 thoughts on “Whatever You Do/Eat/Think/Believe…”

  1. I love the photos! That star looks like it should have ‘HOLLYWOOD’ underneath it in big letters on the hill. Hey, even the wise men knew where to go to find fortune and fame. Of course, gotta love the Dickens poster,too…

    1. Dickens would look good on anything, anywhere. LOL I like that Lisa, HOLLYWOOD underneath that star. Psst! Russell Crowe has a house here and he comes here a lot. 😉

    1. I agree opoetoo, the fence photo has the most feeling for me as well. It just exists there, saying so many things fully. Very Poe and Very Dickens. Thank you for appreciating it.

    1. Peace? What the hell is that B? 😉 Be good to yourself too amigo and eat something that isn’t tofu. Oh god how do you stand that stuff? Blech!

    1. I KNEW you would like this Dhyan. 🙂 I’ll try Dhyan, but I can’t promise I won’t make fun of someone at some point. There is just so much material 😉

  2. My favourite photo is also the same from jessie carty, that is amazing, it must be used for an enlightning ritual of city lights.
    The first picture is so sweet, i liked it a lot, it made me smile and feel coozy.
    Maybe finding Hate on xmas eve is showing that there is no real difference from any other day of the year, just our ilusion of it.
    dickens makes the window stylish, at least I think that.

    Lots of love for you val!

    1. Hi Mariana, both you and Jessie liked the very object I nearly deleted from my camera and of course now I’m glad I didn’t. 🙂 It is an illusion, just like every other holiday that involves some sort of commerce. I’m not a christian, so this is solely about the food and spoiling my daughter. Personally, it really is irritating to have to deal with this every year. It’s at times like this I embrace my heathen ways. I have no god. The ‘hate’ graffiti was a brilliant find for the very reason you stated. Dickens could make just about anything look good I think. Lots of love to you too sweetie. HUGS

    1. Actually Jessie, that is as ostentatious as it gets in this place. This city/province is quite conceivably the most bland, culturless place I’ve ever been. Ugh. I am happy however that you liked this photo. I think the blue of the sky as a back drop gives it a boost.

Leave a Reply

