The Quelling

The standardized text revisited and reviewed

is a security blanket used to smother the infant of spontaneity

until nothing new occurs to the mind

but apathy locked in an emotional cage

Relativity

A woman with a cardboard smile

and broken glass eyes

tried to wash away the dirty shame

while the seams of her heart burst from the pressure

of discordant notes played by a man wearing a noose

as he hung a hairs’ breadth from his final outcome

the deposit slip from hell still in the pocket

of the shirt he inherited from a long dead relative

who’s name he never could recall to save his life

Current Tense

Someone shouted at the rats who sunk the ship of fools

although no proof was ever found

in the river of reason rushing past

The swift and cunning leper took it upon himself

to ingest the remaining quantities of mirth

gorging on his selfish deeds in the dark

leaving just a single tear to sustain the weeping widows

who cannibalized their own mortality

by tossing the dice and gambling with the grim reaper

while he counts his souls

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “”

  1. good evening, word worm (bookworm, book lover):

    very stunning way to tell a story, I admire your style
    and hope that you keep it up!

    1. Hi Jingle, thank you for the compliment. I’ll try to maintain my wormish ways and produce something half decent every now and then. I hope you visit again, because I’ve visited your blog and I like your style too, it’s like a very jumpy rabbit. 🙂

  2. Here we have:
    The Ghost Of The Past
    The Ghost Of The Future
    ………..and………….
    The Ghost Of The Present

    immaterial gift that I have brought for you today
    in the form of a simple wish. I wish you a

    Merry Christmas, Val!

    May 2010 bring ever greater sock stuffers for you!

    Ho-ho-ho! *TeNse *L* TrEe*

    1. Thank you Treeman and I return the sentiment and wish you and your family a happy holiday and a prosperous new year full of peace. 🙂

  3. you always find such intriguing ways to put words together. that doesn’t sound as profound as i meant it but “cardboard smiles” and “apathy in an emotional cage” are just golden 🙂

    1. Thank You Jessie and I will add your stunning comment to the one I received from Mariana and lengthen the time I smile from the reading of it. You are sweet to like it this much and it means so much because I wrote it the other day when I felt emotionally gutted and depressed. HUGS

  4. Regarding the quelling, I agree with what you say, it reminded me about when repeat one word or sentence endless times, it ends up loosing its meaning, I thbink is a phenomenom related to the cognitive theory of descencibilization.

    Realativity, great description of the situation, I relate this to a sayiing I like a lot “context is everything”

    Current Tense
    This is amazingly well written, I love the part when you say gambling with the gream reaper, I think many of us feel the nice to play that game once in a while

    Beautiful post val, you are writting great.

    Thanks for such a beautiful reading my friend and take care

    1. Hi Mariana,
      this is precisely what I was trying to convey with the quelling. It all began yesterday in the car when my daughter and I were discussing school and we both said one word over and over and she remarked that it sounded like nonsense. HUGS for seeing it so clearly.

      Context is indeed everything Mariana and when we don’t aspire to seek out this component in all situations, it can be very negative. I feel this is why the fluid and elusive nature of poetry allows the reader to fit the piece within the context that works for them.

      Current Tense is something I know I can relate personally. There are many people who need to express the ownership of their own mortality to keep themselves alive. I am so very flattered that you feel this is well written and I will smile all day because of it Mariana. Thank you so much for the compliment.

    1. Thanks Kevin for dropping in. I just posted these poems and to have someone read them so quickly is truly the marvel of the technological age and a boon for artists. I hope you come back again.

Leave a Reply

