It’s Here…

This is what it looks like outside my door today.  Yes, it’s finally happened, the first snowstorm of the season.  I will post these photos I just took and then I’ll go and feel sick for a while.  Why dear god why did my ancestors feel the need to come to this frozen hell and procreate?  I. Am. Not. A. Winter. Person.    If you live in the sunnier spots on earth, feel free to gloat in the comment section.  😉

My Front Steps
The Fence
The Shovel Handle With Which I Will Be Too Well Acquainted By January. Is It Healthy To Despise Inanimate Objects? I Hate This One.
Ah Yes! My Old Friend, The Psychotic And Sadistic Snow Plow Driver. He Can Be Found In Cities All Over Canada. He is a Seasonal Frenemy Who Loves To Fill In Driveways After The Resident Has Shovelled Themselves Into A Cardiac Episode. He Laughs And Leaves, Knowing Only Too Well That He Has Turned You Into A Fist Shaking First Class Hater. So, What Does Our Dear Plow Driver Do To Make You Regret Your Hasty Decision To Wish Him A Horrible Christmas? He Waits Until The Snow is Very Heavy And Instead Of Clearing It When He Is Supposed To, He Tortures You From The Local Tim Horton's Coffee Shop Until You See The Error Of Your Ways And You Frantically Call In To The Head Office, Begging For Him to Forgive You And Just Plow The Goddamn Road!
In A Couple Of Hours This Bush In The Front Yard Will Disappear.
These Trees Also Hate The Snow, Just Look At How Depressed They seem!
I Like To Call This One 'The Variations On Whiteness' Can You Distinguish Between Flakes In This Sky? Me Either ;0
Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “It’s Here…”

  1. I can’t even imagine. We get a few flurries every year (though we are overdue for a storm that comes about once every seven years – and even our storms are timid compared to yours).

    On the plus side – what a great excuse to wrap up in your favorite blanket and write!!!

    1. Oh yes Bryan and I do intend to do just that. I’m thinking something deathly melancholy, perhaps a nice bedtime lyric poem about despair in winter. You are very lucky to live in the south. I’m jealous of it. So there. hugs 🙂

    1. Well purple, my condolences on the loss of your good weather. lol We received 40 cm and this is just the beginning. There is good news! If I were in Ontario it would be 30 degrees below zero. It’s always warmer temperature wise here on the east coast and of course only a Canadian could appreciate the varying degrees of freezing to death!

    1. D, we were supposed to have this snowfall about a month ago, so I’m celebrating the good weather we have had. You have no show yet? Stop bragging! 😉 It is always wonderful to have the sun kiss us, whether it’s morning, afternoon or night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

