Trapping light

Did you see it?

That lemon yellow slit of light

Travelling across my contemplation of space

Did you feel it?

The familiar sensation of  memory riding on the beam

Until it slid away like a snake escaping my grasp

I rushed after a mirage

A fragment of who I used to be

But now it’s gone and I mourn the loss

A shattering death of what once was

And what will remain elusive

To the one enchanted by it’s charming lie

That yesterday is better than today

When all along, they are the same

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Trapping light”

  1. I think that people just like to complain, it is like a sport, so by sustaining that yesterday was better than can complain at will. Another issue is that human memory tends to get distorted as time passes, in particular by remember mostly the good parts of the nice times of our lives.

    1. You are so correct mariana about people distorting the past to make it more palatable. Perhaps this is a survival mechanism we humans have to survive mentally that which is intolerable. I meditate a lot and this poem is about one by product of that practice. Several times during the week, I have spontaneious ‘mini’ moments of meditative calm and within those moments I ‘feel’ a sense of peace that is always accompanied by a thought reference of a place and time. Sometimes I know where and when it is and other times it’s a mystery. Expanding these moments is what may mystics try to do. I don’t pretend to be a mystic at all, but this practice has helped me both emotionally and creatively to survive. As for my yesterdays, I don’t like to live in the past, it’s an illusion. hugs

  2. That lemon yellow slit of light
    The familiar sensation of memory riding on the beam

    these are my favorite two lines, perhaps a haiku or tanka? 🙂

    1. I suppose it could be Jessie! I never thought of it but now it could be a nice and tidy Haiku. You do have the best ideas girl. 🙂

    1. Thank you Dark Lord! This actually happens to me regularly and it’s connected to meditation etc. I’ve got an interest in paralell universes and realities and I feel these experiences are part of that whole experience. I’m happy you liked it.

      1. Parallel universes and realities… what is so fascinating about them is, they have a spiritual and a scientific justification as well, I suppose.

      2. Yes they do Dark Lord. I think one day that science will express the reality of the spirit rather than explain it. The spiritual must be experienced rather than looked at externally and detached like one would view an organism with a microscope.

Leave a Reply

