Managing The Other Self

I cupped my hands and held them over my eyes to shield their sensitivity to the fake sunlight on your empty horizon

After squinting for several lifetimes,  I beheld the significance of the activity in the sky above

Tears and drops of rage fell like a million acrid bombs,  sizzling on the apathetic landscape all around me

Just then I heard the Siren song of the liars on the drunken waves of remorse calling to you to remain with them

“Stay”  they wailed, keep company with the eternal miseries and their whores of defeat

But all you could manage was to remain remote until the weight of all you’ve been, done, seen and felt,  made you buckle at the knees with your fragile heart in your hand

A glad hand with no fingers left to count the wasted days but a palm to contain the hours left for thinking and regret

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Managing The Other Self”

  1. I’m not sure why I feel this way because the poem is depressing…but I almost feel a HAPPY depression after reading this, Val. Somehow you’ll understand or just shrug your shoulders.

    “Tears and drops of rage fell like a million acrid bombs, sizzling on the apathetic landscape all around me”….Yummy.

    1. medicatedlady, it IS a happy depression. It’s about figuring out that it’s okay to accept that you can be as miserable and unhappy as you like and you don’t have to pretend anymore that you are bullshit happy. Speaking from a purely personal standpoint, I love my pain, it’s what makes me a good person… and I know you will understand this too medicatedlady. HUGS

    1. Thanks B. 🙂 Management? I don’t believe in the structure of management. My academic background is a case in point. No college diploma or university degree with my name exists. No, self educated blue collar broad here. I do however believe in individual defiance of all levels of management. I know what I am, I am the upper manager of the mismanagement department of the individual defiance company of inner turmoil. 😉 As far as I know there is not training for this position as I invented it just now and I am the only person working here. lol

    1. LOLOLOL Jessie I adore that you see the absurdity in what I write and dare I say it? You have a very healthy sense of humour my dear friend! 🙂

  2. Managing self, I personally find, is easier done when it’s held in a rhyme; certainly helps one to manage one’s time. But when liberated as this poem shows, subordinates follow wherever it goes.

    1. Brad..
      What pleasure it is to read your rhyme
      A new sort of comment
      An opinion in time
      Like dancing with letters
      A tango of words
      Your thoughts matter greatly
      And your sentiments heard

Leave a Reply

