Stuff To Tell You About And…

A poem from moi.

First:  My friend Amy Sue Nathan has some fiction up at: http://www.jscribes.com/bubbe-and-the-iphone/

Second:  D has written a thinker of a poem here:  http://utopianfragments.wordpress.com/

Now, for my poem, which was actually inspired by D’s poem

Reflections


When I smile and look in the mirror I see every person I love

When I laugh and look in the mirror I see every person who appreciates fun

When I look in the mirror with a frown I see every bitter person I’ve ever met

When I look in the mirror when I’m crying, I see every person who has hurt me or who I have hurt

When I look into the mirror blankly, I see every missed opportunity I had to make peace with another

The only mirror that really matters to me, and the only mirror that tells me the true condition of my soul, are the eyes of my daughter.  So far, the reflection is pretty good.


A quote from Jacqueline Kennedy Onasis:

“If you bungle raising your children, I don’t think whatever else you do matters very much.”




Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “Stuff To Tell You About And…”

    1. Oh Nooooo Jessie, say it isn’t so! Aphorisms? Does this mean I’m turning into a pontificating bore? However, now that mention the illustrated part…that could be an opportunity to make fun of myself! I can definitely wrap my pontificating self deprecating head around that. 🙂 HUGS

      1. They are probably increasing in popularity Jessie, because we’ve all lost our grandparent’s commons sense. 🙂

    1. Hi Amy, you are such a talented writer and to see you displaying your fiction in such a wonderful place as Scribblers, is beyond cool. HUGS

  1. agree with jessica here
    always happy something of me, inspires thoughts and words to come to life..

    it was actually inspired by comments that followed a poem i do not recall.
    i will look for it and come back…

    1. Okey dokey D, I look forward to seeing what verse it was that started all this mirror gazing! Thank you also for writing your words, they always make me think,even if I don’t comment. hugs

Leave a Reply

