In Tandem

I channel the light inside his head

When the darkness speaks in tongues

Of black and white and wrong and right

It always comes back to this pin point of frictions

I spit out his bitter opinions

Before they turn sour in my belly

A poisonous elixir meant to kill or cure

As if all we really needed was a provisional disguise

The dawn approaches as grim drama

More coffee to dilute the final cigarettes

Tissue gone but toilet paper aplenty

To soak up the salt water phantoms we call tears

Not knowing the outcome is a new drug

In our hashing out and thrashing about

It looks like talking from an outside point of view

But from the interior we are carrying around a corpse called us


Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “”

    1. Well Lisa, if I’m the real deal, then so are you. Your poetry is very sophisticated and never doubt that your words affect the people who read them. 🙂

  1. Powerful stuff Val. I keep thinking about medications masking identity, which reminds me of a few people and a few doctors I know. Not sure if this was your intent but wow it sure hit me in the gut.

    1. Very very good Danielle! You understood something I was trying to say. At the time, Dave was not only on heavy anti psychotic meds, but drinking heavily and daily. Not only were his symptoms masked, but as you so astutely pointed out, so was his personality. This was our final ‘talk. This was the day he told me I had to let him go. I did. He made a choice and unfortunately he made it for both of us. 😦 HUGS for your gut and HUGS for your empathic intelligence my dear friend.

Leave a Reply

