On Time

A well placed piercing of my heart

Beguiled me enough to let you go

I didn’t really want to slink away

While you slept yourself into oblivion

Don’t fall in love with your bed you told me

Fall in love with nothing I said

An empty soul collision

Brought on by high expectation

We never did enough truth calculus

To prepare for the division

The timing never was considered

As that monster clocked chimed the hour of our demise

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “”

    1. Yes Jessie, perhaps I should do something with Truth Calculus…a chapbook huh? I’ve never done one…how would I go about this?

      1. there is no exact science to compiling a chapbook. i always work on them when i have a finite idea. like my first one that was a poem for each hour of the day so 24 poems. i usually just start writing poems that theme together (or you could do stories) and once i have about 25-30 then I look to see if they mesh well enough that i could make a chapbook out of them 🙂 i love chapbooks!

  1. “The timing never was considered
    As that monster clocked chimed the hour of our demise”

    Strong and beautiful and sad.

    I think our writing sometimes reveals our shadows and ghosts that we never knew existed. It’s therapeutic, though, as I hope this was for you..

    1. It’s all therapy for me Lisa and I hope for anyone who reads this. More than that, I’m digging for the understanding beneath the misery and that’s all a writer or a human being can accomplish, or at least attempt to accomplish before they do the last dance of life.

    1. Thanks Bindo…It was about Dave and him not letting me save him. That was actually written about one evening when we smoked ourselves into the cold hard light of the truth: That he didn’t want me to find him again and save him and no matter how we tried to verbally search for the cure for our dilemma, it was as elusive as trying to grasp and hold lightning. Basically, I lost him to someone I couldn’t fight, death. 😦 I’m sorry you also know the meaning of this word, it’s goddamn harsh and kinda impossible to live with, though we do.

Leave a Reply

