October…

Such a fine month for remembering.  Such a fine month for remorse.  Such a fine month for mining the depths of poetic despair.  Although her birthday was October 27, I felt that today of all days would be most appropriate to display the shattering dark talent of Sylvia Plath.  Let her voice carry you to the darkest parts of her soul, immerse yourself in her courage and watch her rise like a phoenix at the end.  She is, without a doubt, the finest poet of the twentieth century and the loss of her perceptive analysis of the female experience has left an empty artistic space that has yet to be filled.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “October…”

    1. Outstanding Bindo, absolutely outstanding. Psst! Sylvia Plath is my hero, in a head in the oven survivor sort of way. Her use of metaphor when describing mental anguish is untouched by anyone else. If you’ve read everything, then you’ve also read her journals…they were captivating and they explained so much about the state of her soul. Geez Bindo, don’t tell me you like the feminist point of view…;)

    1. Well Danielle, for assorted reasons the second is near completion but horrifically late I know. This one is longer and there are some new characters and “I hope” interesting worlds and adventures. CeeCee also has an expanded role played out with her new friend Keith, the little boy introduced at the end of the first book. I’ve solved the formatting problems that resulted in a missing chapter four and some microscopic print in the first book. It will be up for sale well before Christmas Danielle and I’ll let everyone know here. I’ve also been working intermittently on a blog devoted to this story and when I feel it’s up to snuff creatively, I’ll put up the link to it. I’m going to have video readings and some fun stuff as well. Of course I have no damn idea what I’m doing, but I’m learning a bit at a time. I’ll do a pod later this evening between flu coughing fits and supper. HUGS

  1. Val, amazing choice. Not difficult to see why she is in the ranks of finest. I so wish we could hear all poets speak their hearts. I often imagine a voice to go with what I read. Thank you Val.

      1. What a sweet thing to say Danielle! Maybe it’s time for me to podcast a passage from Granny Destross…

    1. You’re more than welcome Danielle, and thank you for appreciating a poet who affected me so much as I was tearing out of adolescence. For me, she is the pinnacle. It does fill you with anguish and yes, your statement “shredded inside” is a perfect description of what she does to her readers with her skill.

Leave a Reply

