Pig Planet

The trough is crowded with gluttons

Unsatisfied pen denizens

Everyday is a good day to wallow

In the human filth we roll it like a cigarette

anchored and mesmerized by the abundance

Because everyday is a good day to swallow

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

11 thoughts on “Pig Planet”

  1. First, Bindo’s comment. Hilarious. But the poem…

    What a title. What truth! And we wonder why the Earth rebels…

    It reminded me a poem I wrote after Hurricane Katrina:

    THIS HURTS ME MORE THAN IT HURTS YOU

    Katrina blew away the bullshit
    
and the emperor’s clothes.
    
No one was safe in 2005.

    
Mother Earth, congested and bitter

    from our fumes and our furies,
    
rebelled in spectacular fashion.

    
No one was safe.


    Not our president, unable
    
to manipulate Her, though he tried.
    
She glared at him, picture
    
a strong African American woman,

    arms crossed,
 saying
    
I’ll show you shock and awe.

    
With the movement of a hand,

    empty air tossed aside,

    political philosophies
    
laying mangled aside twisted buildings
    
on the gulf coast.


    Forget your bickering, She says.

    In the worst moments of the storm,
    
look closely,
 beneath the spin and debris,
    
and see the basics:


    simple fear and humanity.


    At our worst, there’s our best.
    
We destroy, then we embrace.

    We detonate the bomb

    and hold hands rebuilding.

    
Sometimes the children need reminding.

    1. Bryan, that poem is wonderful and I especially liked this:

      Not our president, unable
      
to manipulate Her, though he tried.
      
She glared at him, picture
      
a strong African American woman,

      arms crossed,
 saying
      
I’ll show you shock and awe. ~~~~~~~~~ As always you are a worker bee of the words 🙂

    1. Bindo, personal filth is NOT a good thing! 🙂 In fact, I’ve cleaned enough houses to know that the next plague to take out half the planet will initially inhabit one of three houses I clean! Sweet jaysus will someone drop the price of Mr. Clean and use free health care as an incentive to wash the bog! I’m just sayin’ is all. 😉

      1. LOLOLOLOL Lisa, yes it’s a dirty job but I’ve gotta do it…for now. Of course, I own the business, so it’s not the demeaning sitch most would think. Most of my customers are friends, I roll like that. I have never been in any work environment where I didn’t turn cold hard business relationships into friendships. It makes work more meaningful that way. Also, these lovely people are helping me sell my books..hehe..networking lol

      2. Trust me, you don’t Lisa. I hate it but it was something I chose to do so that A. I didn’t have to work for anyone else B. I could work it around my daughter’s school schedule and the court situation when I was fighting for her life and C. Stress free simple work to help me overcome some emotional problems I was having…PTSD actually. Oddly, the clients I have are now friends to me. Life is funny eh?

  2. Yes! Well said! The sad thing is, I don’t think it will change anytime soon. Sometimes I think that trough has become so crowded it’s a wonder that people haven’t died being trampled underfoot.

    1. I think the time is coming Lisa, when the skills I learned in childhood will have meaning once again: chopping wood, growing food, milking a cow (not a cash cow either) fishing, lake/river/deep sea, berry picking, chicken keeping etc. You are right, it will get much worse before it gets better, like most diseases. 🙂

Leave a Reply

