Happy T Day To All My Fellow Canucks

Our Supper

One fresh twelve pound turkey,  roasted to a harvest golden brown, bursting with savory juices,  cooked to delectable perfection. Each slice a glorious adventure for the meat lovers palate.   Spicy sage bread stuffing alternately crisp and moist, mingling with tart apple slices, golden sweet chewy raisins and the buttery crunchy texture of walnuts.  On the side we have peaches and cream corn on the cob, dripping with sunny yellow  butter, a veritable explosion of sweet goodness in every kernel as they pop under your hungry bite.  Couple that with a mountainous supply of fluffy new white  potatoes, whipped to creamy perfection and topped with a river of velvety smooth gravy with just a lingering whisper of an onion to spice things up.  Of course, no Thanksgiving supper would  be complete without the robust tang of fresh cranberries cooked ever so slowly until they burst into a sugary syrup, that thickens while on it’s journey to your plate.  For those with an extra spot to fill there are piping hot rolls, soft in the middle and crusty on the outside.

For those Thanksgiving Aficionados, there is the noticeable absence of the following:  Squash, green bean casserole, pumpkin pie, peas and of course, roasted chestnuts. Why? I lament the loss of squash and pumpkin, they lament the loss of peas and green beans.  Keeping it simple is the theme of this year’s meal and that will make it much less complicated when reheating leftovers.  Bon Appetite mon amis, whatever your geographic location.  ::

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Happy T Day To All My Fellow Canucks”

  1. haha. uninvoked invoked my feelings best. My mouth is watering and I’m feeling all Canadian and stuff. Happy Thanksgiving, Val and fellow sharers of the blood.

    1. Thanks Brad! We are now fully into the second day of leftovers, which means by evening time tomorrow we won’t want to see another damn turkey again, at least not until Christimas. ;0 Now, go have yourself a snack Bradley.

  2. omg Val! If I gave you a couple of menus could you type them up all sexy sounding for me?! I’ll memorize them, wait till boyfriend is at work, and then give him a list of what he’s gonna get when he comes home. MWAHAHA!

    1. LOL uninvoked! He would then be a very happy boyfriend indeed! Hmmm, everyone appeared to like this sort of writing, perhaps I should do one menu each week. Change it up so that it’s lunch one week, brekky the next etc.

  3. Let it be known that in addition to writing here and there, I’m also a amateurish pro in the kitchen.

    Your meal sounds glorious. Our Thanksgiving is a month and some days away… I might have to borrow a recipe or two. Something tells me I’m hosting this year!

    MMMM = “Spicy sage bread stuffing alternately crisp and moist, mingling with tart apple slices, golden sweet chewy raisins and the buttery crunchy texture of walnuts”

    Add food writer to your resume, Val.

    1. Bryan, I toned it down for this blog, but I will have you know I can write the most orgasmic Xrated menu on the planet. Trust me daaaarling, a pan of boiled potatoes can be verbally transformed into a sensual experience beyond salt and peppa It all started one night back in 1981 when I worked at a restaurant in Toronto. We were bored mental one Wednesday night when a blizzard arrived and our potential customers departed. To alleviate the tedium, we had a competition to outdo each other with sexual/sensual references of each of the menu items. As I recall, I came in third, but hey, I’ve matured since then! Today I would whip their asses like cream. Damn but I’ve worked with some peculiar people eh? lol If you are hosting your Thanksgiving then I’m certain it will be a scrumptious affair and the good times will be rolling. I Just wish I could drop in with desert. HUGS

      1. LMAO Jessie, yeah, tasty food can do that to a person! I go weak at the knees for anything pie related…goes right from my lips to my hips. 🙂

Leave a Reply

