A Nobel Limerick

I just wanted to leave a few lines in honour of this most historic of days

Today they gave  Nobel to a fool

His achievement is being a tool

Though the choice is perverse

It cannot be reversed

Which means that hand basket in hell is for you

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “A Nobel Limerick”

  1. I like Obama….tend to think he gets a lot of flack, especially from the American conservative base..but I have to admit I was surprised by his receiving the Nobel Prize. He made history in our country just by being president but I would think there were better choices for this award…

    1. Some like him and some don’t. Really, when you get down to it, some people obtain power before they are ready and that is dangerous for those they govern. Hopefully this will all turn out better than most think. I certainly ‘hope’ he does the good he promised. HUGS Lisa, I missed you.

  2. Help me out here, Val.

    Who should have won the award?
    Is it the Nobel itself that you’re dissing,
    or just Obama?
    You sound like our Republicans.

    Canadians like to dog American politics in general.
    Liberals, conservatives, progressives, etc. Right?
    It doesn’t seem to matter what they’re called.
    I’m not sure if there is any side you all support.

    Necessary evils move extremely slow.
    The populace does not decide every issue.
    What do we know anyway? Who tells the truth
    these days? NPR? CBS? NBC? ABC? The New York Times?
    Who is not getting paid to spread false truths?

    If you could clear up my understanding, I’d appreciate
    it. What do you people want us to do…besides revolt?

    1. Treeman, I’ve lived in your country. There are some Americans I adore and will love for the rest of my life. I’m not an anti ‘American citizen’ Canadian and I wanted to make that clear. It’s like this: Canada and the US have evolved differently as nations. Our ideologies are not the same. 1812 was not that long ago really and although our two nations have diplomatic and trade relations, Canada’s approach to immigration, health care, social services, gay rights and international relations is nearly always opposed to the American way no matter if it’s a Republican or Democrat in power in your country. Our system of government is completely different, from the way power is distributed to the elected party to the intrinsic influence the Francophone and First Nations people have over our governance. We have a cultural mosaic in Canada which encourages and respects a nation of differences while the US is a melting pot where all cultural identity is an entity called American. In Canada, we have liars, they exist everywhere, but the difference is that we are not caught up in image like Americans and we keep it pretty real up here in the cold north.

      Who did I want to win the Nobel? No one in power, no one famous, no one affiliated with politics or religion. Why not give them to someone nameless and faceless who feeds hungry children, cures sick people in a tent in a war torn country, someone who volunteered to do it for the good not for the money. There are people on this earth who fight every single day to bring peace to the planet, one person at a time and no matter how much Obama et al love hearing their own voices, they know deep down they are frontin’ it and full of the brown stuff. The irony is this Treeman, those unknown people who really are doing the good, wouldn’t want this award because they see it for the manipulative tool of the powerful that it is and they wouldn’t participate in that.

      Should Americans revolt? YES! let that economy of yours get much worse and I do believe you will see two things: pockets of dissidents all over the US taking up arms and lines of people heading for the Canadian border. 🙂

      1. I like your idea on who also deserves to win the prize. Their numbers are many, although their deeds may be smaller in proportion. And if a no-name were to win, I’d hope like they hell they’d take the money and run.

        Thanks for cluing me in, and for disregarding
        my aggressive rudeness and the defensive
        position I took upon myself this morning.

    1. LOL Jessie, yes I know it’s painful, but it IS true. 😉 Our fearless leader Stephen always gets by with a little help from his friends. I do believe I’m crushing on Mr. Harper after his performance the other day. 😉

  3. The scary thing is, if you read the Nobel Prize guidelines, the guy actually fits the bill. But come on, Michelle isn’t hideous, a bit tall and awkward, but hideous? LOL

    I hear Micheal Vick may get a humanitarian Award
    Can you Idiocracy!

    1. The thing is this bindo my dear, there ARE other countries in the world besides the ununited states. 😉 The ugly truth is that these awards are all part of the political posturing of out of touch leaders who are now outnumbered by a populace that is more educated and tech savvy than ever and thus more powerful. Oh, I do love the awareness taking place on this planet right now. Just like a threadbare curtain in a rundown theatre.

      Regular people with no agendas for fame, fortune or world domination can be a bit tall and awkward, but people who lust after attention, power and money like Ms. Obamabelle are ehem HIDEous. hehehe… no class, no sass and so clumsily blasé.

    1. Why thank you Paul, but I bet it didn’t make you laugh as hard as I did when Obama was given this prize. Perhaps now he can buy his hideous wife some class.

    1. LOL My bad fantasia, I simply couldn’t resist the temptation after hearing about this idiocy. By the way, it’s good to see you here at my blog again!

Leave a Reply

