Ye Olde Clock on Ye Olde Wall Is Chiming…

Time to say farewell.  I’m exquisite at endings, so this should be a snap!  I started this blog sometime back in the mists of October 2008.  I did it with an agenda.  To me this has been work.  It was a way to puke myself into the world after having been eaten and digested by American and Canadian media and the justice system in both countries.  I did it to cleanse myself of a poisonous pain that enveloped me and to ease back into a writing career I’d had to abandon for personal reasons.

Along the way,  I’ve been priviledged to meet other writers who share a love of the art, beyond the monetary aspect of the business.  It’s been wonderful and freeing,  but now I must move on.  It isn’t that I’ve dried up creatively, that will never happen.   My problem has never been a lack of material, but rather a lack of time and this brings me back to the reason for this post.  I’m not getting any younger and I’m acutely aware that each day is precious.   I’ve got a certain amount of time to accomplish those things that matter to me and therefore I’m shedding time takers.

I’ve shared some things here that are true.  Tragedies that happened.  I’ve kept much more to msyelf however, because those are for a book or two or three or seven.   I’ve purged that which needed immediate release.  The byproduct of that purging, is the gift of meeting you.  Your comments and your own work/words expanded my thinking and spirituality.  Thank  You.  Some of you are very gifted writers and don’t know it.  Some of you are not and think you are.   Bullshit will only take you so far in any field, but especially the arts.   Authenticity is what most artists strive for again and again, never quite attaining it.    Then again, it’s in the process that the truth we seek hides beneath what I call our ‘uglies: fear, insecurity, hatred, jealousy etc.   When you can dig beneath that pile of refuse, confront yourself and tell your story, you have done it and you will succeed.

When I first began writing here, I did searches for others who I felt saw what I saw or at least knew something similar about the human condition.  One of those people was Gilles Maire Chenot.  If you look to the right, you will see his name on the blog roll.  He is a French poet and he is brilliant.  I immediately connected to his work and not long after I started this blog, he left a comment for me which I will post for you.  Merci Gilles.   Thank you everyone for reading my words and taking the time to say something.  Remember to be good to yourselves and send out the good vibe to other scribes because there is absolutely no substitute for kindness.

From Gilles, to me, from me to you.  A little Charles Bukowski to straighten out the crooked parts.

So you want to be a writer?

if it doesn’t come bursting out of you
in spite of everything,
don’t do it.
unless it comes unasked out of your
heart and your mind and your mouth
and your gut,
don’t do it.
if you have to sit for hours
staring at your computer screen
or hunched over your typewriter
searching for words,
don’t do it.
if you’re doing it for money or fame,
don’t do it.
if you’re doing it because you want
women in your bed,
don’t do it.
if you have to sit there and
rewrite it again and again,
don’t do it.
if it’s hard work just thinking about doing it,
don’t do it.
if you’re trying to write like somebody else,
forget about it.

if you have to wait for it to roar out of you,
then wait patiently.
if it never does roar out of you,
do something else.

if you first have to read it to your wife
or your girlfriend or your boyfriend
or your parents or to anybody at all,
you’re not ready.

don’t be like so many writers,
don’t be like so many thousands of
people who call themselves writers,
don’t be dull and boring and
pretentious, don’t be consumed with self-love.
the libraries of the world have
yawned themselves to sleep
over your kind.
don’t add to that.
don’t do it.
unless it comes out of
your soul like a rocket,
unless being still would
drive you to madness or
suicide or murder,
don’t do it.
unless the sun inside you is
burning your gut,
don’t do it.

when it is truly time,
and if you have been chosen,
it will do it by
itself and it will keep on doing it
until you die or it dies in you.

there is no other way.

and there never was.
[Charles Bukowski]

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

17 thoughts on “Ye Olde Clock on Ye Olde Wall Is Chiming…”

  1. Val,

    I’ve only been coming here for a short while, but I’ve enjoyed it – for a brief moment, our lives have collided. For that, thankyou. Let peace follow you in your next endeavour/s.

  2. Val,

    I don’t know how I missed this post, but I wondered why nothing new had shown up in my reader.

    I’m envious of your ability to move on and away from all this – and I’m sad to see you go.

    Just remember, it’s a woman’s prerogative to change her mind. 😉

    I will miss you, and will always consider you a friend.

    Hugs,
    Amy xoxo

  3. Val,
    What comfort you’ve given me in the past few months. You have shown compassion and kindness in such an intimate way to me and I continue to revel in your humanity. Your writing is pensive and careful, and I am glad you are taking the time to harness and express it.

    I’m sad to see your blog go, but I know you aren’t going anywhere but fabulous places. Let’s keep in touch.

    Your Medicated Lady

  4. It’s been a pleasure meeting you, Val. Wishing you all the best. I hope the blog bug bites you back online soon, at least to keep us up to date with your off-line publications. You will be missed. Cheers.

  5. Take care, and may success follow you in all the endeavours that you undertake.. You will be missed, and I sure hope you return someday… Till then, this blog of yours would be the place to fall back on, to gather inspiration from your wonderful creations..
    (I’m rather bad with goodbyes.. so, I’ll say, hope to “see” you soon!)

  6. How strange to feel like I’ve been punched in the gut. You’ve become more to me than a writer who blogs – you’re real and you’ve encouraged me, you’ve made me laugh, you’ve shared things that have touched me and changed me. This blog is not the last we’ll see of you. Wherever you go, I’ll follow. I remember the first comment you left on my blog and our email exchange that followed. Your encouragement exhilarated me so much that I couldn’t sleep that night. You are a wonderful storyteller and the real world and any fictional world you create are better off because you exist.

    Bryan

  7. Oh no! 😦 Your leaving is an incredible loss for our little writing community here, but also for me personally. I am so grateful that you ‘discovered’ me. I never really thought my writing was much more than a hobby, and it almost seemed like time wasted. I’m not sure I would have done half the writing that I have done on my blog without all of your encouragement…someone you had never met..and I’m glad you did. Thank you for doing that for little ol’ me.
    I will miss you so much, but I hope that you will find yourself in your writing and that you accomplish everything you set out to do and more!

    Take care, Val…

  8. Take flight Val and thanks for all your comments and all your works….Im sure your talent will take you to beautiful places…Yeah, I know, not very Bindo….

    OK..Dig that fucking Bukowski poem, it’s one of my fave…..I just lit one up for you; take care…

  9. Oh Val!

    I was just getting to know you. I wish you would continue writing but understand if you can’t. Come back anytime we’ll be waiting for you!

    Hugs

    Kelly

  10. I am selfishly saddened. I will miss your words, and your passionate spirit. I understand these things though, and I do wish you the very best as you continue on your journey.

    Please visit. The door is always open for you 🙂

  11. and i just found you 😦 well i hope you will have some time to stop by and visit and/or drop us some email 🙂

  12. oooh that quote…when I burned at 42 I wrote 5 novels each more pleasurable then the next, writing was all, was everything, it poured out off me like sweat. Then it just stopped. I don’t know why. I hope you never lose your passion. Your Leaving: Our Loss.
    God Bless!

  13. I’m really sorry you’re going, Val – but I do understand how things (even blogs) go in seasons and sometimes you have to leave it, whether for a while or a while longer.

    I’ll miss you hugely though – I’ve enjoyed journeying through your days very much, and I hope this doesn’t mean we won’t see you again. Please do keep in touch and let us know where you are on the internet thingy (look how technical I am!) when you decide to resurface again.

    Big love & hugs

    Axxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

