I’m In Writing And Submission Hell

Too much to do so I can kiss any weekend frivolity goodbye.  Two articles for a magazine, seven poems, revision of Granny on lulu and an engaging synopsis of a novella of juicy bits of things that I recall of the bygone era of my misspent something or other.  Oh hell, I think this calls for a musical interlude from none other than the wonderful Michel Pagliaro.  Now, I know this song is very eighties in look and sound but I don’t care, because he is PAG.   Michel, take it away…L’espion

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

11 thoughts on “I’m In Writing And Submission Hell”

    1. Thanks mariana. HUGS Life becomes wrinkle free at some point, maybe now is my time. I hope so. If not I’ll just keep lugging around this weight.

      1. I hope so mariana! I’ve pissed away too many opportunities and time and it’s now or never. Thank you for rooting for me. 🙂

  1. And take a good long walk at some stage and have something very nice to eat. That’s my plan. I do not know why writers should have to do so much of the work. Didn’t publishers used to hire editors and pr people? Now they have just pushed it onto the people who are willing to do it for nothing, the poor bastards at the bottom of the food chain, the writers. Anyway, off for my walk, thanks for the music!

    1. I will take your sage advice Mr. Squires. It used to be that editors looked for spelling/grammatical/style errors etc., now they critique the content. That is the readers job for frig sake. Yes, indeed we are at the bottom of the corporate publishing food chain. I try to send my work in reader ready condition, but I don’t always achieve that. Editors? My friends and family are my editors, because they are the only people who have the healthy eyes to view it clearly and truthfully. Particularly other writers. No one can critique your work like another writer. They use that scalpel with precision and will tell you the ugly truth. When all is said and done Mr. Squires the story will either stand on it’s own or fall. You can edit until your hearts content, not seeing the forest for the trees, but if the story is a flimsy piece of crap it won’t matter if you have every grammatical duck in a row. I’m happy you liked Pag’s music and that your walk was a welcome refresher. 🙂

  2. Michel Pagliaro, good heavens last I heard was J’entends frapper, is he still at it? lol brilliant, love this song…and wow are you ever busy…
    What are the two articles about and what magazines do you write for, I’m going to buy one or two and BRAVO I would be so thrilled. x

    1. Yes, Pag is still at it. He plays clubs here and there and he even has a website. He is on the soundtrack of my childhood Lorraine and he is still smooth. 🙂 The magazine is ‘Our Canada’. It’s published by Reader’s Digest. I’ve got an article coming out in the October/November issue and the others are for their files to publish when they can fit it into their format. The first is about an artist I met in Nova Scotia. His name is Stephen Kuzma and he is a very accomplished and respected painter. In the winter he lives in SoHo and in the summers, he leaves the US and stays at his summer home in Whale Cove Nova Scotia. I interviewed him and took photographs of his studio and many paintings in progress. He was/is a fascinating man. The other is about the couple who own and operate the campsite where we were staying. They are also intriguing people and the story has a wonderful tourist angle to it. I’ll put up each article on here when they are in print, if you would like.

Leave a Reply

