A Day In Court

One day in time

While I was contemplating rights and wrongs

and feeding peanuts to the ravens on the bench

I realized how late it had become

The darkest night came down on my surface

And buried me with dismal certainty

And the lack of good clear light

Was criminal in Its sordid interpretation of the truth

Because you can’t see the writing on the wall

When illumination dims and understanding  fails

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

15 thoughts on “A Day In Court”

    1. Yes indeed Dark Lord. The conclusion of this scenario, is that I endured until the end and I erased the writing on that damn wall and flipped off the ravens on the bench. Good people can win. It happens. 🙂

    1. You and Paul are the best cheering section a person could want Danielle! The amazing thing about this praise, is that you and Paul ARE poets and I’m just messing around with it. Honestly Danielle, odes, sonnets, pentameter, etc, I just ramble. You and Paul KNOW what you are doing! Basically, the flow goes like this: I think of something/someone who has pissed me off, or who has touched my soul and I vent it. Unfortunately, I subject lovely people online to the contents of my far too scattered mind and scarred heart. Oh well, we all have a niche! 😉

      1. Oh we are much more alike than you think, Val! I wouldn’t know pentameter if I fell over it and am about as ignorant as one can be regarding poetic structure. The only thing I’ve ever written that was intentionally structured was that damn sestina. My writing process is very similar to yours, dear friend–vent and subject the poor readers. You are extremely talented and you just don’t know it. So THERE!

  1. I love this, it’s stunning and beautiful and so moody
    and like all excellent writers and I mean really excellent you don’t know how to spell ‘its’ which is a pronoun and not It’s with the apostrophe, which is a contraction of It Is…lol I can’t help it I am so sorry, I think maybe I was meant to be a proofreader, ’cause I can read everybody’s mistakes except my own 😉

    1. Very good mon amis Lorraine! Consider it repaired! You must cut me some slack however. I wrote that in five minutes before heading out the door to my day job. Yes, perhaps you need to sell your services as an editor/proof reader. Most people, especially writers, don’t realize how much money a good editor can earn. They are worth their weight in gold. You are worth your weight in gold too Lorraine. hugs 🙂

  2. This is powerful imagery Val.

    “..and feeding peanuts to the ravens on the bench…”

    You should write more of this. You are a very good poet, even though you don’t recognise it. 🙂

    Love

    1. Thanks paul, I can’t write verse very well, no matter how nice you are about it, but I bleed nicely. 🙂 HUGS

    1. lol yes, well my darling bindo, you are indeed very perceptive! What gave me away? The bitter twist to my tongue or the deep dark depths of human despair I swim in? LOL I like you bindo, cause I know you know how much those insights cost. Granny is the part of me I like the best but you lucky lot, you get the rest.

    1. Thank you D, your compliment is kind. 🙂 That day in court was also really strong but not in a good way. It was one of those things that initially terrorizes your life but eventually turn out to be the right thing. It changed my soul, lets just say that.

Leave a Reply

