The Bug

Sit and lie

Sob and cry

Feel sorry for you

That’s what you do

All day long

You’re me inclined

Your selfishness

Is so refined

That image built

On other’s pain

Has now become

Your claim to fame

To help rewrite

The real you

A parasite

Through and through

You’re not equipped

To play this game

You’re not prepared

To lose in shame

You need someone

To make it clear

That all your plans

Will end in tears

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

9 thoughts on “The Bug”

  1. Oh sweetie, I totally agree with you, people who use other’s illness to make themselves ‘better’ are despicable, but sometimes we don’t know the entire story, and I would hate, hate I repeat for anything to ever happen to you (in a judgemental kind of way) and boy I’m making no sense at all…I know what I mean? so the way I’d say to approach it, is (’cause it’s what I do) If I judge wrongly forgive me God, ’cause I don’t know the whole story, but man she’s a prime Bitch, and she deserves a Bitch Slap, but if I’m wrong I’m sorry…of course you don’t write this before your poem, you say in your heart…

    1. Lorraine, you are a lovely person with such a good intentioned heart. I feel sorry for the woman who is behaving this way and I see such misfortune for her if she continues down that spiral staircase of selfishness. I know her in only a peripheral way and she isn’t someone I would socialize with. I’m too real and direct for a person like this, but when we do meet, it’s cordial. I live by four adages my late husband Dave passed on to me, and they are: Walk softly and carry a big stick, Never let them see you sweat, discretion is the better part of valour and keep your eyes on your fries. šŸ™‚

  2. Great poem, Val! The line “you’re me inclined” has me going back to dig deeper into the meaning you intended. If it’s that we are all capable of acting this way, and have to force ourselves to rise above and plunge ahead, I think it’s spot on. If it’s that we are all prone to disease (what I read in the comments) and all equally vulnerable, it’s also spot on. I love this line, I think it makes the whole poem.

    1. Thank you Danielle, I meant it just as you say, we are all capable of this behaviour, as well as deeds that are much worse. I don’t believe everyone is capable of all evils, but there are a few that are indeed universal. This is one of them. It’s part of an area I’m exploring, ‘selfishness’. How much is too much? When does it cease to be self love or the other extreme, self sacrifice and become self serving. I’ll post these from time to time.

      1. Oh, what an interesting topic to explore! The definition of selfish will definitely vary based on the “actor” and the “observer.” Is there a static line drawn in the sand, an absolute threshold that tips self-love to selfishness? Fascinating! Roll with it, my friend!

  3. Oh Valda sweetie, it’s so well written and so full of feelings and emotions, and as much as I love it, I have to say, because I’ve learned..
    think before you think
    for what you judge
    will happen to you.

    1. Hi Lorraine, I’m happy you liked my bug poem. Yes, judgement stuff. I know allllll about judges and judgement and happening. It would curl everyone’s hair, trust me. I wrote this for a woman I know who is currently using the illness (cancer) of a friend to elevate her status as a saint etc. It’s ugly stuff and as a bystander, it seemed interesting territory to explore creatively. I’m certain everyone has been either the fodder for this type of person or at the very least, been this type of person. It’s all good Lorraine. šŸ™‚

  4. Val marvelous, wanderfull poem!!
    here are my crapy words inspired by it

    I Feel sorry for you
    you are truly lying to yourself

    i don’t feel sorry for you
    cause you won t be able to change
    now it is too late
    Hugz

    1. HUGS! I’m happy you like this one mariana. I was thinking about a parasitic person I know in real life who latches onto anyone they think has something going for them, so they can live through them instead of doing the hard work of life for themselves. To me, this is the worst sort of human being. I like your verse! Excellent! I need to email you later today and tell you of some publications where you can send your work. I like that you are writing verse. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

