Two Points Meet

drivehomecapbreton 003

Bridges and shoes

Go hand in hand

Like water and crossings

When connecting two points

Of

being

And

Breathing

And hearts

Beating

Until the sheer futility

Of traipsing

back and forth

Tears a hole in the soul

Hot like the sun

And

Black like coal

And the water runs over

The bridge

Instead of underneath

Submerging

The urging

Don’t blame me

For the distances

Or

For

Isolation

The dimming view

Is only

Your

Prognostication

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Two Points Meet”

  1. i second the rhythm πŸ™‚ i don’t usually like poems with tiny lines but
    Of

    being

    And

    Breathing

    And hearts

    Beating

    works so very well πŸ™‚

    1. Coming from you, this is a lovely compliment medicatedlady. I have five poets I adore online: Danielle, Bryan, Lorraine, Lisa and You. Some of you are lawless and some of you follow form bravely, but all of you make me think about how crappy I am and that challenges me to be better. So there! πŸ™‚ Of course, Scrib is my favourite at home poet! πŸ˜‰

  2. Great poem val, I like it so much that I have to make another comment, hope you do not mind:
    I loved this sentences:
    “And the water runs over

    The bridge

    Instead of underneath”
    they a re magical ones, but I know they are there for a reason, it is because they have something to hide.

    I do not see a bright future for the protagonist of the poem, or maybe is a future just like any other that keeps darkening and shining less as time goes bye and declines the organ’s flesh.

    1. Of course I don’t mind mariana! Geez, I’m flattered that you find what I have to say important. πŸ™‚ Yes, the protagonist is sort of warned of a very tiring scenario that has been going on for so long that they think it will never end. I felt we all have been there with someone in our lives and in a way it’s pointing out the futility of avoiding the reality of making a determination about their life and the the lives of those close to them. Most of the stuff I write, I’ve felt and yes I’ve been both of these people at one point of another. Thank you so much mariana for connecting to the feelings of this poem. HUGS

  3. Hi, how are you doing pal? Nice poem val,interesting structure and words chosen to make ir. When you say:
    “Don’t blame me
    For the distances
    Or
    For
    Isolation”
    That feels so much like myself, is the first thing I think about it every day, I think it is non sense carging so much for other s acceptance, but I can help it, I hurt bad if I am rejected, I need to overcome this eventally in order to have a better and more fulfilling life. I think is all related to the ridiculosly high expectation we settled upon ourself.
    What do you think val, what is the proboelem with this stuff?
    TAke care and send you a hugh

    1. Hi mariana, I’m doing fine honey, and I hope everything is good for you in your part of this crazy world. I think we overcome the need for acceptance when we start to be true to ourselves. We learn self dislike and insecurity early in life and it takes an effort to expel that poison. I understand the isolation aspect of life and I’ve learned to love it on my personal mental and spiritual island. My late husband Dave used to call me Greta (after famous recluse actress Greta Garbo) because I was such a lone wolf. At the time he said it to me mariana I was totally insulted but now I see that he was just angry and envious of my emotional independence. As things transpired tragically for him/us, I wish I could have turned him into a bit of a lone wolf too. Me? I don’t really give a shit if someone likes what I do/say/think/feel, unless they are close to me. Even then, I do what I feel is right for my soul. Everyone has to be true to themselves and figure out what they are here to do on this planet. I’ve lived by my own personal adage for a long time: If they aren’t paying my rent, buying my food, being my friend or sharing my bed, then their opinions don’t really matter. Adjust the opinions according to their importance in your life. I guess I sound hard core, but then I’ve lived through some hard core times. HUGS

  4. I like this poem, but the centering made it hard to read. But then, maybe I’m just obssessed with left-justifying things. Also love that shot of the bridge…the reflection on the water. DId you take it?

    1. Hi Maxine, yes I took it from a car this past July. I’m going to post all the photos I took with whatever very bad verse I conjure. What? You don’t like centering? lol hugs

Leave a Reply

