Did you hear

about the ear?

Van Gogh was mad

and filled with fear

Tell me

When will you

Stop

Smoking

Those

Damn

Cigarettes?

Van Gogh told me they are hard

On the hearing

And

They

Will

Steal

Your

very

Imperative

Breath

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “”

  1. Quit smoking? Never, my wish is to be the most famous smoker of all time..Of course there is the Marlboro Man…..Damn, guess I’ll have to settle for second, or mebbes Skeletor…

    1. I was vying for that title as well Bindo. lol I admire your resolve and the fact that you do as you damn well please! Ever so brilliant. 🙂

    1. I’m glad you did Lorraine! Your lungs are now clean and pristine 🙂 I was an intermitant smoker…intense when I did it, but then I got sick of the ball and chain. I don’t like anything that controls me. I was cleansing my eyes with some Van Gogh and thought I would rattle the cage of all the smokers out there. 😉 I’m like that sometimes.

    1. Hi Jaymie! I find the more you know of Van Gogh, the less you know, but the pursuit is well worth it. I’m glad you liked the other comments too. I know I glean a great deal of knowledge from the talented people who stop in to remark on what I write. This includes you Jaymie. 🙂

  2. I love Van Gogh. When I was on bed-rest with my second child, I would scour the internet for Van Gogh pictures during many a restless night. I found a great site called theartchive.com this way. You might want to check it out 🙂

    I read this as a pointed statement about our perception of insanity. Poor Vincent, so misunderstood, labeled as insane…and yet millions of perfectly “sane” people continue to smoke (myself included). HMMM.

    1. I used to smoke too Danielle, and I know how hard it can be to quit. I will definitely check out that link! I think I may add a few to my blog roll. Anything Van Gogh touches my heart.

  3. Haha, that’s cool. Did you hear that some German scholars have discovered that it was actually Gaugin who chopped off Van Gogh’s ear with a sword in an argument of a lady?

    1. I haven’t heard this version Paul, but I did hear it had something to do with the Brothel in Arles. The sword story makes more sense than Vincent doing it himself. Gaugin was a sailor and fencer and that happened all the time back then with swords didn’t it? Missing ears and other external body parts. :0

  4. Val, van gogh is my favourite paintor ever, he is amazing, and I think you manage to capture his spirit pretty well with your poem. Congrats because he is a very hard man to represent and/or potray. I read letters from teo several times, it is very inteesting, I seriously recomend it to you.
    Hope you aer doing great my friend
    M

    1. Hi mariana, it appears you and I have something in common. I’ve been a Van Gogh junkie for a long time and I know the letters you are referring to. His life and the lives of the people he knew intimately fascinate me. I’m particularly intrigued by his time in Arles and his subsequent relationship there with Gaugin. In addition, I’ve been unable to find out any information on the Roulin family and what happened to them after their interaction with Vincent. I know they moved to Marseille, but as for the children, there is no record of what they did with their lives. See? Told you I was a Van Gogh junkie! 😉 Thank you for thinking I’ve somehow understood Vincent…maybe I do. 😦 hugs

Leave a Reply

