Was Is

It’s still there

It will always be

The birthplace ย of the everlasting sun

Sighing in an azure sky

Where the stars caress the earth

And the moonbeams kiss the sea

It’s still there

It will always be

What was

Is

Eternally existent

Like a million breathing versions of you and me

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

20 thoughts on “Was Is”

  1. ‘Sighing in an azure sky
    Where the stars caress the earth
    And the moonbeams kiss the sea’

    I love those lines…and I agree, there will never be another Van Gogh. I have a few smaller prints of his paintings…one of my favorite artists by far, along with Salvador Dali.

    1. Dali was brilliant Lisa, now doubt about that. By the way, those lines are the only ones I like in it and the only reason I posted it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you hugs

  2. The painting is one of my favorites but really this poem could stand on its own and pack the same emotional punch. Love is. Always. Was. It is in the air we breathe. It is forever.
    This is magnificent.

    1. Thank you Danielle, and yes love is the only thing that isn’t an illusion on this planet and therefore the one thing that survives, life after life. Vincent has always held a special place in my heart and that painting holds so much feeling in the colour and the brush strokes. There will never be another Van Gogh.

  3. You have captured the gist of emotion so fluently written. I would have never thought of the words and title “Was Is.” It’s simply brilliant! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you Paul for finding worth in this. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s nice to see you visit my blog and I hope you come back again.

  4. Absolutely phenomenal, took my breath away phenomenal and the drawing, well exquisite, did you draw this? it’s splendid, not that it matters because you had already drawn it in your words…

    1. I knew a romantic like you would appreciate this Lorraine and that makes me smile. I WISH my drawings and paintings were this good! This is Vincent Van Gogh at his best. It’s a painting of a field in Arles, Provence. One day I’m going to go there, even if I’m eighty and leaning on a cane. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. What is real is forever, love is an eternal determination of the soul that god continues, that we continue. Thank you Dark Lord, as always, for caring about the words. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Beautiful words
    So romantic val, it is like the planet or even the hole universe fell in love, how nice would it be for that to happen in real life.

    Of course I understand you are extrapolating humans to solar systems, galaxies and starts, I like the possibilities created with that act.

    And to make it ever more perfect I bet the painting is a Van Gogh one, am I right?

    1. Very good eye mariana, it is Vincent. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m happy you like this verse, it was heartfelt and it does happen in real life. The solar systems, galaxies are all about this in a way that is beyond any explanation in this reality, but then that is why love is so wondrous, it is unexplainable.

  6. love that last line ๐Ÿ™‚
    hey – do you want to exchange books? my chapbook for your ceecee? real copies and/or downloadable!

    1. Hi Jessie, thanks for liking my last line. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m going on vacation this coming week, but when I get back we can do the exchange thing if you would like. Have you read the sample pages on lulu yet? If so, I hope you like them. I’ll email you when I get back from Nova Scotia and we can swap then, if that’s good for you.

      1. i haven’t read the sample yet! I was just excited to hear people talking about it ๐Ÿ™‚ definitely drop me a line and we will coordinate!

Leave a Reply

