Flat

I could stretch myself elastic band thin

This panorama of my soul your horizon line

Waves of painful  seas swelling against permanence

Sand and time defining my presence in your life

A thousand suns dipping beneath me

Rising above me

Over and over

back and forth

Until you realize

I don’t make this world flat

You do

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “Flat”

    1. We’ve all known a dude like that, a flat maker. lol Those last two lines were almost changed, so I’m glad I ignored the urge and left them intact.

  1. Hi Val…
    We couldn’t be more different in content, but your style, timing and imagery are awesome… I have added you to le blogroll..

    Cheers
    Bindo

    1. Merci Bindo, le blogroll is le awesome! Well we may be different in content but I used to be a homeless chain smoker seven years ago, if that helps at all! 😉 Oh the stories we could share would straighten your outlook and curl your hair.

  2. “I could stretch myself elastic band thin”

    What an opener!!!

    I like where you take it, and where it takes us.

    Dig those final lines!

    1. 🙂 🙂 🙂 That makes me smile Bryan! I wasn’t sure about this one. I also wasn’t sure if the last two lines would sound dry and harsh to the reader, but apparently it worked. No one laughed, so it was a success! 🙂

    1. Lines are meant to be wavy, squiggly, curvy and occasionally, if one must make them this way, straight. 😉 Hugs Lorraine and merci

  3. This makes me want to say – uh huh girlfriend! 🙂

    i think you should definitely play with that idea of stretching the elastic band more that could be a terribly fun extended metaphor 🙂

Leave a Reply

