I Can’t believe I Just Found Out That…

Norman Mailer sat on Truman Capote  for saying he had no talent, none none none.  Of course all this is moot as they are both dead dead dead, but in the spirit of the thing I found this lovely list below.  Now, I know I’ve often said that writers by and large are supportive and all those warm and fuzzy sentiments,  but when we have a go at each other, it can be accurately compared to a duel to the literary death.  All the greats have done it to each other, usually after collaborating and indeed it would appear it plays a part in keeping writers on their game.  I’ve had my own friend/foe The Haiku Prophet Of Doom.  I’ve written about him on this blog once but  don’t worry, I won’t haul it up from the blog grave and recycle it.   You see, he and I used to have a regular go at each other, verbal wars with some exceptionally sharp weapons. We collaborated, assisted, encouraged, resented, loathed, sabotaged and wrote together.  Most of the  time he proselytized and I feigned interest.   Alas, we no longer know one another, as that was many years ago, but each of us walked away with a few scars as well as a few gifts, both of which  helped me grow as a writer.   I mention The Haiku Prophet Of Doom not only because it relates to Capote and Mailer, but also because I’m going to immortalize him further, in a way befiitting his darkened heart.  But that is for another time and I digress anyway.

Now, back to Truman and Norman…or is that Norman and everyone else? The Feuds between writers and painters are legendary and the public shredding is nothing short of bloodletting at times.  Divas all.  We are stormy divas.  😉  By the way, this comes courtesy of nymag.com from their January 15, 2007 issue.

Whenever Norman Mailer puts out a new book—his latest, The Castle in the Forest,about Hitler, comes out next week—eager profilists find it compulsory to mention that the famous pugilist has “mellowed.” It’s hard to dispute, given his two canes and near blindness, but if the reviews for Castle are bad (and the buzz ain’t good), don’t be surprised if the old lion roars yet again. After all, it was only last month in Esquire that he took on one longtime foe, Times critic Michiko Kakutani, saying, “What put the hair up her immortal Japanese ass is beyond me.” Below, a necessarily much-abbreviated dossier, Mailer’s All-Time Enemies List.

(Photo: Bernard Gofryd/Getty Images)

William Styron
Crime: Allegedly bad-mouthing Mailer’s wife Adele.
Action taken: Wrote a critical piece in Esquire and a letter to Styron in 1958 that said, “I will invite you to a fight in which I expect to stomp out of you a fat amount of your yellow and treacherous shit.”
Blowback: Styron sniped at him in print for 25 years, and one of his villainous characters bore a certain resemblance to Mailer. They finally reconciled in 1985.

(Photo: Fred R. Congrad/New York Times Co./Getty Images)

Truman Capote
Crime: Saying of Mailer, “He has no talent. None, none, none!”
Action taken: Mailer sat on him.
Blowback: In 1980, Capote told an interviewer that while Mailer called In Cold Blood a “failure of the imagination … now I see that the only prizes Norman wins are for that very same kind of writing. I’m glad I was of some small service to him.”

Adele Morales Mailer
Crime: Calling her husband a “faggot” when he was drunk and stoned at 4 a.m. at the tail end of a party to launch his mayoral campaign.
Action taken: Stabbed her twice with a penknife, nearly killing her.
Blowback: Though she refused to testify against him, he did spend seventeen days in Bellevue’s psych ward. They finally divorced two years later. She wrote a book about it in 1997.

McGeorge Bundy
Crime: Being Lyndon Johnson’s national-security adviser during the Vietnam War.
Action taken: At Capote’s Black and White Ball in 1966, he invited the official to step outside to settle their foreign-policy differences in a street fight.
Blowback: Not much, after Norman Podhoretz and Lillian Hellman calmed them down.

Peter Manso
Crime: Writing a biography of Mailer in 1985 that, despite being authorized, was not to Mailer’s liking.
Action taken: Cut off relations when the bio was published and thereafter referred to him as a confirmed enemy.
Blowback: In a 2002 book about Provincetown, Manso wrote—among many unflattering things—that Mailer had a doctor’s wife procure psychedelic drugs for him. Mailer fired off a letter to a local paper asserting that “P. D. Manso is looking for gold in the desert of his arid inner life, where lies and distortion are the only cactus juice to keep him going.”

Germaine Greer, Kate Millett, et al.
Crime: Being feminists—and in the case of Millett, coining the phrase “male chauvinist pig” to describe him.
Action taken: Attacked them all in a retrograde essay titled “The Prisoner of Sex” and in a vicious debate at Town Hall with Greer and other women, immortalized in the 1971 D. A. Pennebaker documentary Town Bloody Hall.
Blowback: At Town Hall, Mailer was practically booed off the stage (with help from audience members Betty Friedan and Susan Sontag). Greer denounced the “masculine artist in our society” as a “killer,” but only after saying she wanted to sleep with Mailer. The two went for drinks afterward, but nothing reportedly came of it.

(Photo: Bernard Gotfryd/Getty Images)

Gore Vidal
Crime: Comparing “The Prisoner of Sex” to “three days of menstrual flow” and Mailer to Charles Manson.
Action taken: Head-butting him in the green room of The Dick Cavett Show in 1971, then telling him, on-air, that he ruined Kerouac by sleeping with him. Six years later, he threw a drink at Vidal—and punched him—at a Lally Weymouth soirée.
Blowback: Still on the floor, Vidal said, “Words fail Norman Mailer yet again.” Days later, Vidal went on Cavett’s show to assert that Mailer had—literally—stabbed his second wife in the back. They, too, reconciled in 1985.

Michiko Kakutani
Crime: Reviewing his books negatively.
Action taken: In 2005, he told Rolling Stone, “Kakutani is a one-woman kamikaze. She disdains white male authors, and I’m her number-one favorite target … But the Timeseditors can’t fire her. They’re terrified of her. With discrimination rules and such, well, she’s a threefer … Asiatic, feminist, and ah, what’s the third? Well … let’s just call her a twofer … She is a token. And deep down, she probably knows it.”
Blowback: Stay tuned. Someone at the Times has to review The Castle in the Forest, and we can be reasonably certain critics won’t like it. Kakutani hasn’t recused herself, and the takedown is her stock-in-trade.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “I Can’t believe I Just Found Out That…”

  1. Kind of fun, but I don’t look foward for this kind of dispute. I’m very sensitive to critics. One bad review and I’m emocionally destroyed.

    1. Hi Bernardo! How you been doing? Long time no see my friend. 🙂 I don’t have any emotional attachment to anything I write. I’ve been doing it a long time and there are only two stories that I have emotional ties to and they are in progress at the moment. I’m also honest with myself and I know when I write crap and when it’s good. I occasionally write semi-crap and this is what Virginia Bell is, semi-crap. lol I don’t take EVER take criticism personally and I’m ding proof. I put this up for fun and to give someone a chuckle or smile. It’s soap opera-ish and that itself leaves it open to many possibilities. After a while Bernardo, your will become more resilient against the likes and dislikes of readers and critics. 🙂 Oh yeah, as for Mailer, he learned Oscar Wilde’s golden writer rule: The only thing worse that being talked about is not being talked about, hence Mailer’s penchant for battling his equally famous cohorts.

    1. Merci Christophe, je suis heureux vous a aimé mes mots. Vos mots sont également brillants et acérés. J’espère que vous ne vous occupez pas de mon aller dans les deux sens entre Français et Anglais. Mon Français n’est pas aussi correct que je voudrais qu’il soit, mais j’y arrive. Mon père et grand-mère seraient heureux que je réapprends la langue. Il est bon de voir que toi lisant ici mon travail et moi vous espérez de retour. 🙂

    1. Merci Lorraine, I very pleased you liked this and saw the humour in it. It’s good to laugh at our foibles, it keeps us humble. I’ve a Prophet Of Doom surprise coming this weekend. 😉 Just some silliness I’ll post once a week.

  2. Haha, fantastic. Every writer needs a sharp knife in their kitbag. It is part of how things progress and as you have pointed out, keeping each other honest. Supercool post.

    1. Indeed, there is nothing like a good swipe or snarky remark to keep us clean and on the path to quality Mr. Squires. 🙂

    1. I thought you would like this Paul, and yes Vidal came out smelling like a rose as he was very adept at one upmanship. 🙂 hugs

  3. SAT on him???
    This reminds me of an article I just read about Alice Hoffman throwing a fit on Twitter because of a poor review. Divas indeed!

    Now, more importantly-I am intrigued by The Haiku Prophet of Doom. I’ll going to have to pour through your archives now!

    1. We all do it, it’s just done in different ways. I put my frenemies in my stories or poems, while others name names and get huffy publicly. A shocking truth hit me the other day, that this group of writers blogging back and forth may well be courting serious success in the future and this is our breeding ground, the internet. This is really unexplored territory for those in the arts and we are trailblazers in a way. 🙂

      1. That is so true, Val. It IS unexplored territory, and we really have no idea how far-reaching our public rants, name-calling, etc. really are…I was shocked to read about Alice, and sad too, because I enjoyed her first book and I am sure she regrets acting on impulse. In fact–I regretted even mentioning her the second after I posted the comment…oh well, at least she didn’t sit on anybody:)

      2. LOL I’m going to read what Alice said later when I have a moment to myself. It must have been a doozie from your description. I would like to thank you for something. Not just you, but Brian, Brad, Anne and Lisa and other writers who have bought my book. Not one of you mentioned the lack of page numbers or the ridiculously offensive small print and that to me displays your kindness. Now, I’ll explain. I JUST got my book from lulu this week, well after everyone else did and they buggered it, obviously. There were page numbers and larger print when I send the file, so now I have to re-publish it WITH an ISBN this time. Sheesh, if anything ever runs along smoothly for me, it either means I’m dead or reality has shifted to another dimension. Anyway, I wanted you to know that I know and that I think you are lovely for saying nothing. I am certain of one thing, the Haiku Prophet Of Doom would have reveled in this before launching into an episode of the Itoldyaso. HUGS

Leave a Reply

