The Speaker

You’re so absorbant

Like a sponge

You leave us all so dry

Cracked and wanting more

Your moist words

You sit

You drip

Your words are all so wry

Our attention is your mirror

The reflected light fantastic

You trip

All day long  we see

The movement of your lips

You’re  soaking wet

Swimming in a pool of wit

Cascades of  words

Fairly drip from your fluid lips

You always trip

And lose your grip

Before you slip

Born and bred

Once the A list

Now the Z

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “The Speaker”

  1. IT is a great poem val, I feel like sending it to several individuals I had the disgrace to have known.
    But let me tell you something personal here, mostly I would love to send it to a guy who was my best friend growing up, he always thought he knew it all, but I did not care, he was a good guy, indeed I still don’t care I love him anyway (of course for other many good acts he did, not for his speaking mouth).

    1. It’s always a love/hate relationship with people who challenge us and perhaps they also highlight those aspects within ourselves we abhor enough to diminish consciously. Sometimes boorish people like the prophet of doom and your childhood friend can also be the most generous. You either love them or hate them, no in between. 🙂

  2. Also, it’s really funny that in an above comment you said “Thank you Dark Lord.” Now, I know you’re speaking to the comment-er…. but for some reason that line makes me picture you as an evil mistress in a straight to DVD horror movie. Of course the part of Dark Lord is played by one Mr. Wil Wheaton.

    1. Yes, and my name is lulu 😉 Now, if I could just find a way to turn Granny Destross into a cartoon, Wil Wheaton could be the voice of Villain!

  3. Great stuff, Val! You know the sad thing is that I can think of entirely too many people that this could be written about–both in the public eye and my little social networks. I love the words you chose in this one, they really paint a picture of a sniveling, self-important person who drools insincerity.

    1. Thanks Danielle 🙂 I like that, ‘sniveling, self-important person who drools insincerity.’ The media has really given idiots like this a forum too, so we get to see and them 24 hours a day if we want! We’ve got someone in government here who is the original pattern for this type of character and his ability to boast about nothing is astounding. What a dipstick he is. lol

    1. Actually Jessie, I wasn’t going to say anything, but Patrick the starfish asked me to post this for him. Who knew a starfish could be such a hater? 😉

    1. Thank you Dark Lord. Eventually, we all must meet our nemesis, our character flaws. It’s just that public figures, in this case, media personalities, appear to be so deluded they are oblivious to the egomania that screams from every pore.

    1. Oh yes we do. I think I’ve known a few more than I feel is fair, but hey, it’s all material isn’t it?

    1. Thank you shraddha for finding a chuckle in my words. Please come back again, it’s nice to see cool new people read my stuff. 🙂

    1. We’ve all met them, we’ve all listened to them and we’ve all felt so absorbed by them ad nauseum but hey, why not immortalize them too in verse! Thanks Lorraine, I’m glad you liked the spirit of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

