The Fence Sitter

There was a soul

Who straddled splinters

Who sat aloft

The wood in winter

For many years

He sat alone

No friends or foes

His comfort zone

The others there

Who walked the roads

He pitied much

Their heavy loads

They passed him by

On either side

He watched them all

He didn’t hide

He felt so safe

Up there removed

Until some weather

Changed his mood

The clouds were brooding

The rain came down

The lightning flashed

It hit the ground

Poor fence sitter

Shook with fear

The thunder cracked

He shed some tears

As the rain fell

The water rose

It soon covered

All the roads

All night long

The water fell

How deep it was

He couldn’t tell

He braced himself

Slid halfway down

Was swept away

Without a sound

Fence sitter sat

Astride his wood

Practiced folly

He never stood

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

26 thoughts on “The Fence Sitter”

  1. There is a time to be neutral, objective, and fair to all concerned. But generally speaking, life is more palpable when you just pick a side and get on with it. For some, the hardest thing to do.

    1. I agree with you completely timoteo. In the short term fence sitting is safe but in the long term it’s certain misery. It’s nice to see you visit my blog. 🙂

    1. Thank you Danielle! I was just tooling around with it after watching the news and thinking about the lack of standing up being done on this planet says a great deal about who we are as humans. As much as I hate to say it, this is rapidly becoming a planet populated by herded sheep. Where did all the rebels go? I think they snuck out the back door at some point and we are the poorer for it. We’ve become an anesthetized populace and to stand up and resist causes pain. Sadly, I don’t think many of us have any tolerance for the pain it takes to say no. hugs

  2. Lovely & so honest. This poem raises serious philosphical queations: is there more honour in making the ‘wrong’ choice than refraining from the conversation altogether? It’s a curly one.I say choose.

    1. Well, considering I’ve made the wrong choice on a number of occasions, I would agree that a wrong choice is better than no choice. As in the verse, if you make no choice, forces out of your control will make it for you. No choice means no control over your own life and that is scary as hell. Fear is the root of this. Everyone really seems to like this guy, so I’m going to name him and have him do something in verse every now and then. By the way, I can never imagine you being indecisive Maxine and that is an admirable quality, to be steadfast. 🙂 hugs

  3. it would be so fun to do a series of these types of poems as a modern day nursery rhyme set for adults 🙂

    1. Hi D, As always it’s lovely to see you here…:) I was hoping it would a fun word romp, and sometimes grownups need to be silly too. Thank you for the sweet comment.

    1. Thanks Amy honey! I’m happy you liked it this much and mostly I’m happy because you are writing more verse and it’s veddy veddy good too! HUGS 🙂

    1. I must have done something right Lorraine, because that is what I was thinking before I wrote it. I’m thrilled you liked it, but it was redundant in a couple of places but it had already been viewed, so too late for an edit! 🙂

  4. If we don’t stand for something,
    then everything may fall away.

    The four-step approach IS fun to play with.
    I like your style, Val, and your sensibilities.

    Someone said, “He who would continue his folly,
    would soon become wise.” We can’t be anything
    forever, not even dumb. “Persist!” Why for?

    1. Yes, I like this sort of rhyming because of the edge of humour to the rhythm. The contrast works well with the intent. I agree with your last statement. Eventually change sweeps away the idiot in us all.

    1. He is kind of like the scarecrow and I’m pleased I made you smile today and not frown! Thank you mariana! 🙂

    1. Ah yes! They also have no true friends either. Bouncy? Hmm okay. bouncy is good but clever is better. Thanks Paul, it’s always a treat to see a remark from a taoist who grins. 🙂

Leave a Reply

