Wandering

I once met a raindrop

And followed it home

But it gave me the slip

And left me alone

So I sat by a river

Trembling with fear

Comforted only

By one tiny tear

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Wandering”

    1. As I recall, you like the rain yourself and I’m happy you like this too. 🙂 Your poetry is quality and I dearly hope you keep writing it and entertain compiling it in a volume. hugs 🙂

    1. Welcome! Lorraine is an angel and if you came from her site, you must be one too. 🙂 I’m happy you liked this little piece and it has me thinking I should write more tiny poems like this one. I hope you come back again.

    1. Coming from you a compliment on my verse means a great deal. To be honest, every poet I visit itimidates me regarding the work. I joke with my husband (another excellent poet) that I write very bad verse and inflict it on people. I am learning from you and others about how to compose a feeling or thought, so bear with and in time I might be a passable versologist. hugs 🙂

      1. Excuse me while I lift my jaw from the floor…Val–you are a wonderful poet! You just happen to be incredibly humble 🙂 I am so flattered that you like my work. I feel the same way about each of your comments on anything I write.

        On a side note–the book arrived yesterday and I can’t wait to get home from vacation to read it! :):)

      2. I so hope you like the book! Thank you to the power of ten for buying it and considered yourself bear hugged. 🙂 I try to keep myself clear about my limitations as a writer, but if you like my verse, WOW, that pleases me tremendously. Enjoy your vacation!

  1. Oh Val, I love this! Sometimes my poetry gets so wordy, so long-winded, so rambling… I need to remember the reason I fell in love with poetry in the first place. Thirty-four words here and every single one of them speaks volumes. Each of them is in the proper place and you deliver your point with cleverness. I love your voice!

    (By the way… almost done with CeeCee… can’t wait to email you my “review”!!!)

    1. I thought it was too short at first Bryan and I tried adding more but it began to sound like a long winded relative, so I stopped myself. I’m happy you feel it’s complete as it is. I truly hoped you liked Granny, but if you didn’t, I know you will be honest and tell it like it is. You are a wonderful friend to review it! HUGS

  2. oh wow…each drops so precious, individual yet part of the whole, you found yours and like magic, you couldn’t keep it…Oh I love every word and space in this rainy magic 🙂

    1. Merci Lorraine, it was short and small but it felt right to post it. It is true, sometimes we can’t keep those things we want the most. 🙂

  3. Such a beautiful an aquatic poem!

    Quite a paradox there is in it because:
    the raindrop gave you the slip
    and now you are by the river
    (with who knows how many raindrops)
    nevertheless you need to be comforted

    Maybe you fell for that one raindrop.

    1. I’m so pleased you saw the metaphor with the river! Yes, and of course a river moves itself along, like love, sadness and all human emotion. There is nothing static in the human expression of life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

