Meeting In Hindsight

The first thing I saw of you

After all those years

All those fears

Was your tennis shoe

It was white and broken in

But neatly tied and secure

It was

Overlapped by the edge of denim blue

You didn’t make an overture

Or greet me right away

Instead you stood facing south

Near the headless crowd

And the woman in black pumps

Who called all your shots

Or so I thought

Was this a mercy mission

For your suffering or mine?

Cursed or divine?

Hard to tell with visits like these

All upended and open to the indiscreet

Interpretation

Of the wreckage of our years

We stood like that in a bubble

Speaking of the silent thing

Only we know

This is how I shall remember you

halfway to the jumping bridge

Of our eternity

The last thing I saw of you

Was your coat

Nondescript and humble

Like you in that golden age

Of

Our undoing

You never said goodbye

But then again

Neither did I

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “Meeting In Hindsight”

  1. Old relationships do bring up a slew of…what if’s.
    That the man in his new white shoes had a boss perhaps
    made this accidental rendezvous easier to take,
    and leave behind with no reservations.

    Without really asking for it,
    you have my sympathy. Well done, Val!

    1. Thank You Uncle. 🙂 In a way you are correct about the leaving behind being a bit easier due to the circumstances. I feel we all have one of these relationships in our past that we carry with us forever.

  2. This one seems so personal and honest because the visuals were very strong. I almost felt like I there with you, looking across a crowded street and seeing someone from the past I hope to avoid seeing again. Then again, that’s what good writing is supposed to do, no? Thanks for sharing this one with us…

    1. Your welcome Lisa and thank you for appreciating it. There is a certain someone each person both wishes and dreads seeing again, usually for the same reason and this is mine. You are very clever to have noticed that. 🙂

  3. Val, what a poignant poem you have written. A neatly tied shoe, a humble coat..such common words used to eloquently give us a window into the soul of what appears to have been a very uncommon relationship. You are wonderfully adept at conveying emotion.
    I love this.

    1. It was a poignant meeting and the fact that you saw and felt that pleases me. He is someone I will never forget who touched my life and left an indelible mark on my soul.

      1. Val, how I can relate…I know this feeling so well…

        He is lucky to have known you, and now you’ve immortalized your relationship. How beautiful. 🙂

      2. I’m both happy and sad that you can relate because it is so bittersweet. Sometimes things are not meant to last and yet are, as you say, immortalized. HUGS

  4. shoes neatly tied show pride
    no goodbye shows the same to the trained eye
    who knows what it was
    just that showing weekness is past

    Congrats val, it is excelent.

    1. mariana, you are again exact in your deduction of the person I was writing about. Thank you for enjoying it and for the flattering compliment. hugs

    1. Hi Maxine, I like that you liked it. 🙂 You’re an immensely talented writer. I’m all about the beginnings and the endings in my life and this was one of the most difficult for me. It’s funny how the most important events in our lives narrow down to something as simple as a daily object like shoe. In a way they sort of define us. hugs

    1. Hi Annmarie, it’s good to see you again and thank you once more for posting my work on your site. The poem behind the poem is tragic and the person I’ve written it about is real. Writing it made me cry to be honest with you, but I guess that is why we write, for the catharsis. hugs

Leave a Reply

