Tic Toc

I hadn’t really checked the passage

Or monitored the hands at work

The sun was still round and high

A noon time circle of false hope

Above the churning belly sea

I was fathoms deep in lateness

Tic

Toc

Fuck the clock

I don’t care

They’ll have to wait

I’m stuck in traffic

They’ll understand

I’m not that tardy

I’m not that grand

Tic

Toc

That goddamn clock

Who invented time anyway

Some goddamn cretin with time on his hands

That’s who

Stupid concept

I’m seasonal

Tic 

Toc 

Fucking clock

Thank god for fast lanes

On a slow day

Whew I’m here

Tic

Toc

Fuck the clock

“Hey, I’m sorry I’m late, let me catch my breath, whew, okay, where was I?  Oh yeah, I spilled coffee on myself, I forgot my keys, someone called and wouldn’t stop talking, I got stuck behind a truck on the freeway, and did I mention my alarm clock stopped working?”

Tic

Toc

“Fuck your alarm clock, your fired!”

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

17 thoughts on “Tic Toc”

    1. Oh dear god, I hate the clock too and anything associated with time. I’m late a great deal also, but I despise being early even more because it gives me time to nail bite and look shifty. :0

  1. This is what writing for children does to you, right Val? Makes you scream the F-Word. This is the REAL Val, right? 🙂 “A noon time circle of false hope.” Love that.

    1. Psst! Bryan, I’m going to share some confidential information with you: I know alllllllllllllllllllll the swear words and many days it’s difficult to discern Val from a sailor. 😉 I believe in the versatility of such words. lol I’m happy you like the false hope line.

  2. Val,
    Thanks for the kind words regarding my art. You’re too kind… brilliant, nah. Competent maybe. Nice of you to stop by.

    Love your verse. Interesting, thoughtful writing! Good luck on finding the right pub house.

    Haste yee back 😉

    1. You’re very welcome haste and believe me, your work is much more than competent: It’s alive and that is what art is all about. I’m glad you like my very bad verse. I’ll shock you all one day and write something half decent! 😉

  3. Val,

    Love, love, love this poem! And I’m going to very much enjoy exploring your blog. Thanks for stopping by vox poetica! It’s my brand-new baby and I’m very excited it’s up and running.

    Our girl Amy is my inspiration. I am honored to be her cheerleader and have her as mine.

    Glad to “meet” you!
    –Annmarie

    1. Hi Annmarie, it’s good to see you over here and it makes me smile that you loved my poem. I agree with you, Amy is a lovely and inspiring person. It’s good to meet you too and it will be wonderful to wax poetic back and forth. hugs 🙂

    1. LOL No Amy, relax girlfriend. I’m the owner of a small business, so I would have to fire myself! Of course, don’t think I haven’t wanted to give myself the pink slip a few times. The lines just came to me and as always I felt it only fair to inflict even more of my very bad verse on each one of you fine and lovely people.

Leave a Reply

