Have Want Need

 

Forest fire

off a round from the big guns

Sound bites

the hand that used to feed it

A banker counts

on no one watching him 

presidential seal

of approval for fake news

Hollywood stars

in its own reality show

Half a world

away knows nothing of the other half

Body parts

company with mortality

News flash

point of all the ills of society

Talk show

off your only asset for fame

Rock bottom

price is on your head

Super size 

zero if you ever want to work in this town

Money down

stairs in the wrong pocket

Clothes pins

and needles waiting for the future

One day

ahead of the next week

One foot

step closer to the truth

One way

or another we will all arrive

On time

is of the essence

To have 

no other way to express it

We want

to find the soul escape hatch

In need

 of more and more of less

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Have Want Need”

  1. Glad you dropped by and left your linkie. I like one two one two step. Very good mental exercise and performed perfectly by you. Cheers.

    1. Cheers back to you Brad and thanks for popping in to my blog. Thanks for the one two one two step compliment. Your writing is very direct and I’m going to put you on my blog roll. Take care. 🙂

  2. Forest fires
    brush away unwanted mental debris
    Destinations
    distinguish the flames upon arrival
    Glassy essence
    of man, proud man, exposes the ape
    .
    I’ve fallen into your trap, Val.
    It’s just what I needed. Hello there!
    Uncle Tree

    1. Ah, another willing victim! LOL I shouldn’t tell you this tree, because it’s highly confidential CIA stuff, but I’ve been enlisted by the American government to provide a more humane torture of gitmo prisoners. I must subject them to a daily recitation of my very bad verse until they crack under the pressure, begging for a halt to the misery and a volume of Byron or Shelley to soothe their wounded sensibilities. 😉 Thanks for dropping in my new friend, I shall post more of my very bad verse later today. Oh yes, I liked your verse quite a lot. 🙂

  3. Very Good!
    great potrait of reality, with it’s harsh part, harsh images, but also with hope.

    My favourite part:
    Hollywood stars
    in its own reality show

    1. Thank you mariana! 🙂 Everything UNreal has been made real and I’m so happy you liked that part. Hope is cyclical and when everything dies, it sprouts from the debris that is left. I like your visits here.

Leave a Reply

