Twenty Four Hours

Chill cold hands

Of the cold hard facts

Pull back

The warm black blanket

Of your incendiary nights

Exposing the rampant falsehoods

The head hanging  shame

Of the life you live

But you gather your inner discord

Well after the light goes out

And your heart reconsctructs the wall

That keeps you safe

Self satisfied

Sanctimonious

Smug

And

So

All

A

Lone

A human distillation

Of a long night

Into

a much longer day

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

11 thoughts on “Twenty Four Hours”

  1. I am not a budhdhist, but I want to meditate on regulara basis, and I have read a lot. I like budhist ideas a lot. I am a fan of the mind and life institute (They wrote great books).

  2. I am happy you liked it.
    I like your idea of comming here for chipping away at the wall, doing it step by step.
    Are you a budhist?
    Take care

    1. thanks mariana. I’m working on the Buddhism. It’s becoming very meaningful to me and I’ve been walking toward it for a long time. Are you a Buddhist?

  3. Txs poet. I think we are really alone, but not in a narscisitic or protective way, neither is self-imposed, it is simply to use this stupid metaphor that if you wan’t to loose weight, I can not do the diet for you. If you wan’t to learn math, I can not do the exercises. There are parts of us that are exclusive to us, important one.
    I also ask myself what happens with and how do they work, the wall we build, and our egos, it is a pretty long subject to talk it about here, but we’ll go on.
    TAke care

    1. I like that metaphor very much mariana because all growth and life is about the work. Always about the work. Perhaps we are born with the wall and coming here life after life (assuming one is accepting of reincarnation) is about chipping away at the wall, relationship by relationship. Eventually, the unification of all souls could be the goal. Of course, this is simply my perspective which changes and evolves the more I learn, or more often than not, unlearn.

  4. Love the image and the feel that pulling back the blanket conveys – what a great metaphor – what a horrible feeling that is in the morning when I have to unravel from my cocoon so I’m instantly on the defensive. I also like how the line lengths vary, moving to the one-word lines near the end for emphasis… and I really, really like the last three lines. Good stuff!

    1. Thank you so much Bryan! I really respect you as a poet, therefore your positive response means a great deal to me. 🙂

  5. Great poems, i liked the sentence :”Exposing the rampant falsehoods”.
    I was thinking that at a certain point we are all alone anyway, whether we build the wall or not. The wall is just cosmetic reasurance.

    1. Your perspective is interesting mariana. I’ve always wondered if this self imposed isolation is simply preservation of individuality and therefore an extension of ego out of control. I agree with you, the wall is definitely cosmetic reassurance.

    1. It’s all good! 🙂 Thank you for thinking my poem is cool. I feel all writers have their niche and I can’t imagine being able to write anything technical. The thought of all that jargon makes my head hurt.

Leave a Reply

