Cats, Sunsets and Crustaceans

 

After work today I went to the grocery store for some sort of easy to prepare sustenance.  As always, I made my way over to the lobster tank.  As I watched, I thought, how like writers these lobsters are.  Okay, stay with me, I promise I’m approaching a worthy comparison.  The lobsters were all scrambling to find their place in the tank, crawling all over one another, occasionally having an eye to eye standoff over territory. One lobster in particular began his/her climb immediately after being clawed down.  When one got to the top of the pile, and that much closer to the top of the tank, a few, not all, tried to claw it back down to the bottom.  

 In fascination I watched this one individual creature relentlessly attempt an escape, no matter how futile it seemed time after time.  Why?  Because the top of the tank didn’t move, it was still there.  The opportunity for freedom didn’t cease to be simply because of the behaviour of the other lobsters.  My point is simple, the dream is not going anywhere for any of us and the opportunities are more abundant than most lobsters/writers  think.  when we’re  at the bottom of the tank being clawed down by fear, doubt, melancholy and discouragment, we miss seeing the top of the tank because all we see is the bottom. Be the lobster who keeps climbing despite the ever present negativity of a writer’s life, because my friends, like most bogeymen, it’s  just not real.  Hope is.    

Be good to yourselves and as always, send out the good vibe to other writers who may be looking at the bottom of that damn tank.  🙂

 

 

 

may0509-009Sparkey, AKA, The boy, Beast, Badness, and Baby.  Could be we love this feline eh?

may0509-011

 

 

Sunset on an old farm road, not far from here.  Just lovely, if you can stand the accompanying aroma.

may0509-0044

And of course, those crustaceans.  I took the other photos, but I had to pilfer this one from the internet.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Cats, Sunsets and Crustaceans”

    1. oui, apparemment c’est vrai. J’aime lire votre blog Christophe et vous remercie du mien de visite.

  1. Lovely and hopefull story, very nice way to picture life. And I like a lot the way where you encourage us to help each other, it is pretty budhist like.
    Here is one thing a great writter posted to me

    “Maybe it’s the dark stuff is the source of some emotion that inspires poetry because it invokes a stronger reaction. I love the dark too. I don’t think its easier to write dark stuff but harder, nor is it about complaining as much as it is wanting to fix the world.
    Sing your own lullabye, even if its a dark one.”-

    1. Thank you mariana. 🙂 I like that quote and I am in agreement with every line and letter. You are the only person to notice the Buddhist reference. I’m trying to incorporate this way of being into my life again. 🙂

    1. LOL yeah, lobsters, big insect of the sea. I love them, but to be fair, my uncle was a lobster and scallop fisherman and it was part of my diet as a kid. I’m so happy you liked the beast, Sparkey. There is something about a cat I cannot resist. 🙂

  2. “…we miss seeing the top of the tank because all we see is the bottom…” A great line, Val. I’d never thought of it in quite that way.

Leave a Reply

