The Business Of Being Busy

It’s Friday and the meat and potatoes job has been placed neatly in the far corner of my mind, freeing my gray matter  for other endeavours.   I’ve got a publisher for my middle reader fantasy novel and at long last I’ll be able to see it in print.  I’d be remiss to avoid mentioning the work it will involve over the next extended period of time, but I’ll keep posting in between job work and writing work.   I’ll keep you abreast of each development and I want to share with you  every step along the path to publication.  I’m completely ecstatic but well grounded about the whole situation.  I won’t make a million from this, but I will have experiences that are priceless.  I believe it only takes one book to eliminate the mistique surrounding that god we all worship and hope to become: A publised author.  The credibility alone is coveted, as well as the respect and acceptance of others who have already crossed that threshold.  I’ll leave you with one heartfelt and sincere sentiment:  If I can do this, you can.  I won’t expand on the challenges I’ve faced in the past or those bogeymen of the present, but stick with it, keep writing and never let the *insert expletive here* get you down.  I’ll leave it up to you to determine who your expletives are.  Okay, I’m off to do some writing and deal with the business of being busy.   Be good to yourselves and send out the optimist vibe to other writers when you can because sometimes it isn’t easy in the trenches.  😉

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “The Business Of Being Busy”

  1. Hey Val: Finally moved in and just getting back to checking the blogs. You got a publisher for your novel!! Fantastic! And many congratulations!!! I’ll be fascinated to see you report the progress on your blog.. 🙂 And of course.. I’m green with envy 😛

    1. Don’t be too green with envy! There is a lot of stuff I’ll have to do that is scary and new, but thank you for the congratulations peter. 🙂 I hope your move turns out well.

    1. Ah…Aquatalia. 🙂 Unicorns do have a streak of green running down their middle. lol Thanks Jam for the sweet words. Hmmm…a unicorn…that gives me a great idea for the second book! 😉

  2. The meat and potatoes job always feels like such a waste of time compared with what you know you’d rather be doing, huh? I know I’ve said this already, but I’ll say it again…congratulations! I hope this turns out to carry you as far as you want to go and beyond…(starting to sound like Buzz Lightyear here…heh..)

    1. Hey, I like Buzz Lightyear! 🙂 Thank you sweetie for you good wishes, they mean a great deal. All writers struggle with the enthusiasm factor and I’m not different. I hate my day job and that is a good enthusiasm injector for my writing. 😉

    1. Thank you Anne, for your good wishes as well as being an inspiration to keep going. Your tops. 🙂 HUGS

  3. Well done Val. :-)I know how hard you have worked, extremely hard; you deserve every success. You are an excellent writer.

    Love 🙂

    1. Thank you scrib, you’re support means a lot to me. That and your editorial services. 😉 HUGS 🙂

  4. Val, I’m so happy for you. No one deserves this more than you. You are a supportive and inspirational writer/human being, and because of that, you’re already wildly successful. I hope to soon be following in your footsteps, but, regardless, I’m enjoying the journey, baby!

    1. Thanks Debbie 🙂 I’ve no doubt you will soon find your success too. You’re an excellent writer with a unique style and I can see you going all the way with it. This time next year I believe most of the people who comment here will be in print. THEN we get to feel pressure, night sweats, performance anxiety, self esteem issues, insomnia etc. 😉 HUGS

Leave a Reply

