When Is It Okay For A Writer To Admit…

That you hate your characters

That you are sick of writing them

That you are tired of their stupid story line

That you wish you could find a nice cliff for them to fall from in  Chapter four

That you now think of them like freeloading relatives who refuse to leave

That the thought of writing one more line of dialogue for them turns your stomach

That you are sick to death of everything they say, do and wish they would just go away

That after twenty five rewrites you hate their freaking guts 

That you wish you could change the past and NOT write the book as one of a trilogy because that means you have to live with these hateful beings for two more tortuous novels.  

That the nightmare has only begun, because if the story is published you will have to talk about these characters you now loathe and pretend you love them!  

*Any writers out there have a day like this with the monsters they’ve created? *   😉

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

9 thoughts on “When Is It Okay For A Writer To Admit…”

  1. I was thinking that you can consider your characters as avatars, or as the second life human beings, therefore they do not feel so real, nevertheless everything you wrote about them is true. The advantage of this is that this kind of fake beings can disapear at any moment, are forgoten extremelly quickly and they are rarely remember once they are gone.

    PD:They can even get wiped out by a computer virus.

    1. Hi mariana It’s true, they can be easily forgotten. Unfortunately, I want it published therefore the characters will be in my thoughts for some time yet. I like your avatar comparison, because in a way that is very accurate. 🙂

  2. Your characters are real and your reaction to them natural. Sometimes we might even “hate” our own family – if briefly. If your characters didn’t push you one way or another, then I’d be worried. It’s a cycle. As I tell my friend Medicated Lady (when things happen like her lips swell after she takes medicine she is allergic to), “M’Lady, this is perfectly normal.”

    I love chocolate. Feed me chocolate for dessert every day and you know what? There’s going to be a day when I hate chocolate’s guts.

    1. Exactly Bryan! I think the overdosing reaction has to happen to move the story to it’s conclusion. Too much chocolate? Perish the thought! 😉
      Unless my lips swell then I’ll need to rethink it. :0

    1. Bless your novelist soul Anne, I KNEW you would understand! 🙂 This last story went on and on and on with no end in sight. If I hadn’t finished it, then I may have been tempted to arrange an accident for a couple of characters! 😉 I agree, if you don’t go through the ‘hate’ phase on a regular basis, you would never finish it and therefore never call yourself a writer. Hugs.

  3. I think it’s time to step away from the manuscript, Val. I haven’t ever hated my characters or wanted to abandon my book, but I have “had it up to here” with them, I’ve gotten overwhelmed, even to the point where I couldn’t think straight about it all. So I put it aside. A week, maybe two. Once in the fall when I was distracted by some family stuff, I didn’t work on it for 6 weeks because I couldn’t.

    It all fell back into place.

    1. I suppose everyone is different and feels differently about their creations. 🙂 Stephen King said in ‘On Writing’ regarding ‘The Stand’ ” I saved my book by blowing approximately half it’s major characters to smithereens.” He had grown weary of writers block and basically couldn’t take it anymore. I think a lot of writers go through this but don’t want to admit it because we are supposed to be so enthusiastic about it. J.D. Salinger got pretty damn tired of Holden Caulfield and said as much.

Leave a Reply

