Leaving A Photo Trail In My Busy Wake

Too busy to post many words today.  I will however leave you with some photos I took two days ago.  When I returned home, I noticed a great many of the pictures I snapped were of roads going nowhere, or at least an invisible destination. Hmm, is my subconscious mind trying to tell me something?  

I also took some of a graveyard, but the exploration of eternal resting places is a hobby in my family going back a couple of generations.  Way back when I was knee hight to a headstone,  we had some lovely macabre summer picnics in the local boneyard.  I can still hear my mother’s exclamation, which was loud enough to wake the dead on several continents: “Look!  Ah that poor dear only made it to twenty, must have died of the consumption.  Oh and look at this one, left a widow with six children.”  Who says history is only in a book?  Okay, enough of the crypt keeper talk, here are the photos and I’ll post a real something or other tomorrow, for those who give a hoot.  Be good to yourselves.

 

aprilferryland09-013

 

aprilferryland09-014

 

aprilferryland09-016 

aprilferryland09-015aprilferryland09-019

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “Leaving A Photo Trail In My Busy Wake”

  1. I like the last one bit. I kinda feel sorry for you though. “Hey, let’s go eat with dead people and discuss their awful demise. Hmm. Might actually be worth a story though eh?

    Oh, and if you want a chance to advertise your blog shamelessly, Uninvoked has its own forums now and there is an advertising section. ^^ I think it’d be awesome if you came over and posted something about Words. Link is here, if you don’t want to track back: http://uninvoked.proboards.com/

    1. LOL Your sympathy is kindly accepted. Oh, I could regale you with stories from my childhood the would alternately curl your hair or make you grey early. 😉 One thing about it, I’m not afraid of the dead! The living are another matter altogether. Thanks for the tip and I’ll amble over in a bit. 🙂

  2. Val – Great photos! My favorite is number three… strangely soothing.

    Near our house there’s an old cemetery with a section designated as “Baby Land.” Sad, morbid, creepy, awkward, strange. Your camera would produce interesting shots there, I imagine.

    1. Photo three is just outside a place here called Cape Broyle. The sweeping shoreline is on the left of that road and it’s nothing short of mesmerizing on a sunny day. I’ll bet you would write some inspiring verse after seeing it.

      That is sad, Baby Land. It’s a reality no one likes to think about. You know, occasionally, when the mood strikes me I like to take photos in graveyards from a purely paranormal perspective rather than for photographic purposes. A couple of times interesting things have appeared photos that are simply mystifying and unexplainable.

    1. Thanks Jam 🙂 Maybe one day all our roads will lead to wonderful destinations. If not, at least the trip has been interesting.

Leave a Reply

