Some Days Are Just Like That, Ya Know?

 

 

 

Okay, I’m going to get down to the crux of the issue, some days a person should stay in bed.  Today, I should have buried my head under the blankets and written it off the page of my life.   It all began last evening actually.  I decided to email some queries with a synopsis.  There I sat, nice and relaxed, mug of java in hand feeling content and rather accomplished.  I was  slap happy with my query letter and I was beginning to feel deep love for my synopsis.  I sent out six email queries and with a joyous curve to my lips, I hit send.  Ah, such satisfaction!  Now I would wait in jittery anticipation for the reaction to my story offering.  Off to bed I toddled ( yes I toddle occasionally, as well as bip, amble and my personal favourite, mosey) satisfied with my effort and glowing from the dreamy prospect that perhaps my query could lead to my dream come true.  You all know that hopeful sensation deep in your heart and the accompanying fantasy of book signings, interviews and all other egomaniacal theatrics you can mentally conjure.  As my head hit the pillow and the nether world of dreams enveloped me, I had no idea that calamity would replace the new beaming optimism.   

Up I jumped ( okay, I didn’t jump, but I did a very jazzy slide) out of bed.  With my java  in hand I signed into ye olde email account, bursting with anticipation.   YES!  an agent replied.  I couldn’t believe it, so soon! They must have liked the story!  I opened the email to find these lovely words of greeting:  THIS EMAIL WAS BLANK.   Frantically I coasted over to my ‘sent’ folder and after checking all six, I discovered much to my horror that yes indeed, there was nothing in the body of any of the emails.  OH DEAR GOD!  WHY ME?  After slapping myself senseless for a few minutes I recovered from the absolute shame of it all and decided to retry.  I discovered that  Microsoft Word is a menace and I corrected the problem.  In a frenzy (I had to hurry out the door to my day job) I sent all six once again.  Just as I was preparing to close the laptop I had this nagging feeling to recheck them, just to be sure, and well…ah… to feed my obsessive compulsive need.  Okay, now this is where it takes  a terrible turn.  Five were perfectly sent.  Oh yes FIVE were wonderful.  ONE was not.  Of course the ONE which wasn’t perfect, was sent to the agent I’ve been hankering after, no salivating for.  Want to know the imperfection?  Not only did I address this person by the wrong name, but by the wrong gender!  I also had no damn time to send another email to try and rectify the error.   About an hour ago I sent an email, hoping this person will ignore my greeting deficit, but I somehow think the chances of that are about as remote as world peace and winning the lottery.  Ah…ain’t the writing life grand?

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “Some Days Are Just Like That, Ya Know?”

  1. We all make these retarded mistakes. Let it go and move on (I know, easy for me to say.) Checking and rechecking and rechecking again is part of the OCD we writers deal with. However, no matter how often we recheck, dumbass mistakes like this fall through the cracks. I imagine most agents are so used to seeing these things they hardly notice. My best words of advice are: if it’s meant to be, it’ll be. Don’t worry. You and the “right” agent will find each other and live happily ever after. I’m with Amy sending you lots of virtual hugs.;-)

    1. Thanks Debbie 🙂 I’ve resigned myself to the acceptance of my idiocy. You’re right of course, onward and hopefully upward. Thanks for the hugs, some days they are a mighty welcome addition. HUGS 🙂

  2. Well, my dear, as in the words of the song.. “things can only get better, can only get better…”

    As this morning’s snow has melted away, the memory of this morning’s ‘events’ will too.:-)

  3. Awww! Well it happens. I don’t think I’ve actually submitted to even one magazine/agent/publisher that has had me truly salivating without some sort of disaster…probably why I’m not a millionaire author yet 😉

    1. Yeah, my empty pockets tell the same tragic story. 😉 I did send a very humorous and somewhat groveling apology. I’ll let you know how low I’ve sunk when/if I get a reply.

    1. OY VEY is right! I sat there saying my special incantation for such moments: idiotidiotidiotidiot. I’m good now. No I’m not! LOL HUGS backtoya Amy!

  4. Oh, ouch! I’m so sorry you had to go through that. I felt so bad about a similar error I actually sent them a hand-written card (With an adorable soaked kitten on it) apologizing. The card was perfect too, it said “If I didn’t laugh, I’d cry, and if I don’t do either–well–look out!”

    The lady liked it, and was perfectly accepting of the apology, but I still got a rejection >.<

    1. This made me feel better and it made me feel worse! LOL Hugs…It’s good to know I’m not alone in this. At least I’ve gotten the lunacy out of the way from the start. hehe.

Leave a Reply

