A Chronic Dilemma With Other Writers

Okay, lets lance the abscess shall we?  During the course of my non-writing meat and potatoes toiling,  I had time to think about this, that and the other thing.  In particular I ruminated on my feelings about the other writers I know both online and off.    The number of them isn’t important, but the quality of their work is.  I won’t bother with personalities, because I adore  them all, even the huffy unreconcilable two who rub me this way, that way and the wrong way.   Lets just say I’ve been blessed with the company of some outstanding individuals within the past two years.   Okay, abscess time.  In this lofty group of word artisans there are two individuals who stand a bit taller than the rest.  Why?  Because they are gifted beyond the rest and better than that, they don’t even know it!    They write in genres that frustrate them or  drink the poison water of procrastination because the work is too damn stale to be anything but beneath them.  I won’t name names,  but here they are:

 

WRITER ONE:  This lovely person writes drivel.  Reams of it.  They think they belong in contemporary fiction but actually, they need to ditch the newest latest trend and sit down and write, dare I say it, yes…here it comes…POETRY.  They won’t of course.  I attempted to broach the subject once and their look withered my  begonia.   You would think I’d uttered something blasphemous, plunging both our souls into hell.  We’re talking OVERreaction here.  Not only that, they call  their poetry a freakin’ writing exercise!   This is so sad because they are  devastatingly talented in this arena and no one will ever know.  Think of a cheerful Plath and you will be close to an accurate assessment of this person’s talent.  There is no excuse for this sort of waste.  NONE.  You know who you are, begonia killer and I may pick that scab again one day. So there.   😉  

 

WRITER TWO:  This particular person is out there, misguided,  clocking time,  fretting, thinking and writing.  What are they writing?  Damn good question.  They produce decent work, but they don’t give a shit about it.  They fake they do, but they don’t.   They’re not aware of it yet, and after the withering begonia experience above, I’m understandedly hesitant to open my yap.  I may bite the bullet one day and tell them, because it’s so damn obvious and they’re blind to it!  Incredible.  This person has a journal that could have been written by Hemingway.  The same understated directness and precision of a journalist but tinged with a depth most writer’s would kill for and it’s in an area they aren’t even exploring in the right way.   This writer says more in one sentence than most dream of saying in a chapter.  If you read this, and I know you will, WAKE THE HELL UP!   Go and look at that journal,  for God sake  and do something with it or I’m going to have to cover my begonia and risk getting the dirty eye.   You’ve got greatness in your future if you only grasp it.  If you do recognize  yourself, email me and I’ll explain what I mean about those journals.  🙂

 

Okay, I’m done but hey, since I mentioned ole Ernest, here is a quote from Papa Hemingway himself, along with a lovely photograph of said legend.  🙂

“Forget your personal tragedy. We are all bitched from the start and you especially have to be hurt like hell before you can write seriously. But when you get the damned hurt, use it-don’t cheat with it.

-Ernest Miller Hemingway

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “A Chronic Dilemma With Other Writers”

  1. what a delight to stumble upon someone who uses her powers for good; who reaches out and uplifts others; who is not the apathic companion by default but rather the gardener: nurturing, pruning, watering, pinching off premature buds… kudos to you

    1. Hi Alex,
      I’ve been blessed in my creative life to have had a couple of hellishly good mentors. The most important thing they taught me, was that artists nourish each other. There is enough negativity on this planet without anymore being added. Thank you so much for dropping and saying such lovely things. I hope you come back again. 🙂

  2. Hmmmm? Well I guess that’s told me, eh? Now say what you really think, lol.

    I`ll have to mull this one over for a while.

    1. Oh Please, do mull. Mull to your hearts content, but stay away from my begonia and wax poetic. If you dare…bwaaahh. 😉

  3. What an unbelievable quote by Hemingway. That guy should have been a writer! I hope both of your writer friends wake up and smell the begonias. Coming from you, a gifted writer for sure, this is quite the compliment. That’s one thing I love about getting to “know” other writers – the support is overwhelming and spectacular.

    1. The nature of a writer’s life a shifting and insecure existence. It is so fraught with battles against self doubt and trepidation, it’s a wonder anyone can survive without the friendship of other story tellers. I’m a social person to begin with and if I didn’t have that essential contact with ‘my kind’, I’d likely shrivel up and become horribly morose. I like the way you view the creative process Debra and there is a great deal I can learn from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

