What I Know And What I Don’t Know

I know…

The midnight sky over Algonquin Park is a velvet indigo punctuated by the most dazzling stars and if you look long enough you fall up into them.

Coyotes adopt abandoned domesticated dogs when humans won’t

A cougar in the wild makes a sound that is eerily similar to that of a woman crying

It feels achingly wonderful to portage through the wilderness where ancient footsteps once trod

There is nothing like a pan fried rainbow trout you’ve caught yourself

Nature is sacred and very near what people call God but know as love

Being on the sea aboard a fishing boat in the Bay of Fundy is good for the work ethic muscle

Being downwind of a black bear when blueberry picking is kinda important

Raccoons can open jars

Water skiiing makes your legs hurt like hell but you can’t wait to do it again as soon as the pain disappears

A harvest moon makes your heart feel full and tense

There is an endless supply of tears in each person

Money can buy none of these things and they are worth more than pure gold

 

I don’t know…

Why people lie and betray each other all the damn time

Why people are still dying of hunger

Why love hurts sometimes

Why people steal from each other

Why we need religion

How we can stop war

Why music makes us feel every emotion humanly possible and some feelings we haven’t  yet named

Why some people need leaders

Why some people need to lead

Why individual freedom is the most lofty desired state of being we want for ourselves but desire to take from others

Why we can laugh when we hurt 

Why we are really here

 

Thoughts anyone?

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

3 thoughts on “What I Know And What I Don’t Know”

  1. I wish you could be there, too. And, ah, but you are in the same league! You’re a beautiful, poetic, artistic soul and a champion for peace in the world. Lennon would have loved you.

  2. Love, love, love this post! “Why music makes us feel every emotion humanly possible and some feelings we haven’t yet named” brings me to tears as I’m currently rehearsing for a show on Friday night and am so aware of the power of music. Great, thought-provoking stuff here. Why do we need religion? How can we stop war? Hmmm…. Kind of reminds me of a song I once heard…

    Imagine there’s no Heaven
    It’s easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only sky
    Imagine all the people
    Living for today

    Imagine there’s no countries
    It isn’t hard to do
    Nothing to kill or die for
    And no religion too
    Imagine all the people
    Living life in peace

    You may say that I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the world will be as one

    Imagine no possessions
    I wonder if you can
    No need for greed or hunger
    A brotherhood of man
    Imagine all the people
    Sharing all the world

    You may say that I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the world will live as one

    1. Hi Debbie, I wish I could see and hear you perform. 🙂 I’m hardly in Lennon’s league, but your reference is very flattering. You are a cool chick.

Leave a Reply

