To Bip Or Not To Bip, That Is The Question…

 

Off and on today I’ve been reading blogs, interspersed with life, rewrites and tooling around with some tooning.  Yep, I’ve been bipping.  Truth be told, I’ve been bipping more than I’ve been working.  A plateau has been reached but  I’ve nailed the cover illustration for my book.  I feel satisfied with the look and feel, but now I’ve got to redraw it in photoshop.  The mouse pen is incredibly sensitive and being a newbie artist to this medium is sort of challenging.  When I first began this book, I wasn’t going to travel down the involved road of illustration but now this whole project has taken on a life of it’s own.    I do believe by the time I’m finished with the entire situation I’ll need a mental detox from the  experience.  Familiarity breeds comtempt in a family, but cripes, this is the worst case of character cabin fever I’ve ever had.   I recall a statement Stephen King made during a lecture he, Tabitha and their son Owen gave to some middle school kids.  Essentially,  he said after he has worked on a book for a while, he becomes sick of certain characters and therefore does away with them as expediently possible.     Only a writer can understand this level of fed up.  It’s like listening to an elderly relative tell you the same story for the umpteenth time while your face displays nary a trace of boredom.  Underneath however, your eyes are darting around like bingo balls hoping to find a polite exit.  Yep, I’m there alright, the shine is definitely off the apple.   

To be perfectly honest, a character from another story has been crowding my thinking with possibilities and paths of expression.  This story is much more layered  and it could be either literary or a mindless frolic.  If I choose the literary route ( which is highly likely) I’ve got some serious research ahead of me.  It’s a period piece (depression era) and the lead character’s personal history is emotionally complex.    A very famous person also threads his way through this tale and I’ll need to be absolute in my depiction.  It’s tricky writing about well known people, because it can come off hollow or even worse, trite.  Fortunately, he won’t be  physically present for more than a chapter and he will actually facillitate the ending.    If I’m tenacious and on my game, this book could be the career changer for me.  It would also make feasable a dream I hold dear, to visit a certain little town in Provence for some renewal.     Only time will tell.  

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “To Bip Or Not To Bip, That Is The Question…”

    1. Thanks Amy. 🙂 Considering this gentleman is deceased, perhaps his spirit will preside over those passages relating to him.

Leave a Reply

