Puffs Of Smoke

 

 

Just in case anyone is reading this thing off and on, I’ve not disappeared in a puff of smoke.  I’ve been working.  The day job and the writing afterward.  I’ve got the manuscript for the children’s adventure novel fairly clean and lovely.  Of course,  now that I’m fully immersed I’ve decided to illustrate the cover and perhaps the odd page inside.  Uploading it to LuLu is going to inspire a tiny tantrum or two as well as a “What in the name of God am I doing?”  Alas,  the end result is worth it.  I will be on some shelf, somewhere and hopefully my story will find it’s way into some little hands and hearts.  If I make some coinage,  that will be thick icing on an already very large cake.   The knowledge I’ve gained from doing this is priceless and the autonomy it gives an artist is very liberating.  I feel it gives a writer more balance and confidence to self publish at least once.  It simply no longer has the taint it once did because the process isn’t a mystery anymore.  

  Once it’s up at LuLu, I’m going to secure my own domain and use it to promote this work as well as the rest of the series of seven novels that follow it.   It appears to be part and parcel of the business now to be doing book trailers and at some point this will be an area that  I’ll need to explore.    Okay, now that I’ve explained myself , I’ll now disappear in a puff of smoke.  See ya.  POOF!

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Puffs Of Smoke”

  1. That is fantastic! Good for you! I know it’s tough trying to juggle the bread-and-butter day job with the precious time for the art you truly love. I’m not familiar with LuLu but I hope you will share a link when it is finally published. I look forward to seeing your work!

    1. Thanks Anne! I’ve been teetering on the preciped of doing it myself for about six months. It’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. 🙂

Leave a Reply

