Daily Quote

In keeping with this day, associated with love and romance, it’s only fitting for me to post quotes by two of the most romantic writers to have ever lived:   Elizabeth Barrett Browning and Robert Browning.  Their love story alone is remarkable and touching, never mind the verse they created.  Enjoy, and Happy Valentines Day!  

 

         from Sonnets from the Portuguese

                              XLIII

    How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. 
    I love thee to the depth and breadth and height 
    My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight 
    For the ends of Being and ideal Grace. 
    I love thee to the level of everyday’s 
    Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight. 
    I love thee freely, as men might strive for Right; 
    I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise. 
    I love thee with the passion put to use 
    In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith. 
    I love thee with a love I seemed to lose 
    With my lost saints,–I love thee with the breath, 
    Smiles, tears, of all my life!–and, if God choose, 
    I shall but love thee better after death.

-Elizabeth Barrett Browning

 

 

 

The moment eternal – just that and no more – When ecstasy’s utmost we clutch at the core While cheeks burn, arms open, eyes shut, and lips meet! 

-Robert Browning

 

 

First time he kissed me, he but only kissed The fingers of this hand wherewith I write; And, ever since, it grew more clean and white. 

-Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

