Brrr…That’s cold…An Interesting Rejection

 

 

 

Brrr…Sometimes this business can be a frozen hell, when it’s not fraying your nerve fibres within an inch of snapping.  Let me explain:

On January 19, I submitted a piece called ‘ Taken ‘ to an online magazine that also does a print business.   Today I received a response and it was peculiar and anonymously chilly.    The publication itself is a small affair and the focus is on women.  There are no fluff pieces and most of the writing is clean, tight and informative.   In fact, sometimes it’s downright moving.    This is why I’m rather surprised by the absolute coldness of their response.    According to the greeting of this email I’m a non-entity with no name, and there was no mention of the title of my submission which they were rejecting.    It was as if someone sat there and hit the send button to an assortment of generic writers.  I’m not exactly a newbie,  I’ve been published in mainstream magazines and  I’ve come to expect this occasionally and only from larger book publishers who are inundated with masses of submissions to wade through.   However, it’s rather obscene coming  from a small almost intimate magazine such as this and certainly not to this degree.    I’m experienced  enough to expect at least my name attached to the letter or email.   Form letters are relatively common in this business,  but this was more akin to an advertisement for entering their fiction contest for a fee.    This is ridiculous for an enterprise of this size and utterly unprofessional for an editor.    I wonder how much more degraded the publishing business will get as the economy tumbles further into the abyss.    Thoughts anyone?  Feel free to leave your opinion in the comments section, or share your own experiences.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Brrr…That’s cold…An Interesting Rejection”

  1. Hi Amy! Long time no see. It sounds like you’re having some crap times as well. I can relate to the ‘pending’ hell. I’m still waiting on another I sent the same day. Hang in there Amy honey, you’re an excellent writer and things will work out. As for me, I’m going to be a lone wolf with one book. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

