Blogs, Writers And Motivation

I have a few favourite blogs I visit everyday.   Some I’ve been visiting for some time and others are newly discovered gems.  I visit these particular writer sites because the people producing them are genuine, talented and have incredible sentiments  to share.   I’ve pared my list considerably over the past month and the sure fire way to make me hot foot it to the nearest blog exit is the  ‘give away’.   A number of writers are using this gimmick to increase hits on their blogs and thus display their popularity.   I’m supposing they are using this as some sort of  quasi marketing technique for their work.

 Whenever I witness this I’m reminded of the kid in elementary school who would buy friends with extra candy or a new toy no one else could afford.   I realize the desire to market your work, but just as the kid in elementary school may have  bought some pseudo friendship for a period of time ,  the loyalty always disappeared when the gifts stopped being provided.  There is something about this process that is inately sad and smacks of desperation. One rather ugly  aspect of all this “Can I buy you so you’ll buy my book”?  malarkey, is that not one of them will post a story, poem or anything else beyond their opinions, for free.  I’ve read a great deal of  “I won’t let anyone steal my work off my site” and “I get paid for my words, I’m a writer goddammit!”  Then, just to really torch their reader’s retinas and insult their intelligence,  they recycle posts from the previous month.    If I were an editor, I know what I would think.  What do you think?   Let me know in the comments.  I’ll be interested in your thoughts regarding this growing phenomenon.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Blogs, Writers And Motivation”

  1. I have yet to have run across this,either, but I would agree….why should anyone try to buy readers? It wouldn’t inspire me to read what they have written. The only thing that inspires me to read a blog/book/etc… is good writing.

    1. I suppose that old adage applies: I takes all kinds to make the world go around. I’m like you, if the writing is quality and I enjoy it, I stay. Thanks for dropping in, it’s good to see you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

