GET A MITT AND GET IN THE GAME

 

Ty Cobb
Ty Cobb

I had to fight all my life to survive. They were all against me, but I beat the bastards and left them in the ditch.” 

-Ty Cobb

 

There comes a time in every life when the knocks you suffer leave you at a crossroads.  There you are, completely alone and just one decision to make.  Everything you’ve learned has brought you to this one place in time to make your mark.  Such things as skill, luck, timing and ingenuity will affect the outcome but only one thing will determine the road you ulitimately choose to take: character.    Character, the monument to life we create from our successes and failures, our joy and our heartbreak.   Unfortunately, the only way to be certain of your character is when it’s tested and that can feel like one mighty hard kick in the ass.  Well, I’ve had my kick and now I’m at that crossroads with a decision to make.

For days I’ve been mentally gnawing and chewing on this book I’m writing. Lately it’s become rewriting and cursing and ignoring and on and on with it until it’s been wrung out like an old dish rag.   I want to make money and lots of it.  I don’t deny that.  Will I?  I don’t friggin’ know, but whatever happens, will I be proud of what I leave behind with my name on it?  Will my daughter be proud?  Today I chose the high road.  I’m going to build a career on story telling alone.  No trying to cash in on a trend or writing to satisfy anyone but those characters who keep pissing me off with their incessant badgering to be in print and read by someone.  If only one person buys my book, reads it and enjoys it, then I’ve done it. It’s long past the time to stop farting around and write the damn thing.  Purge it once and for all.  

By the way,  Ty Cobb is up there because he was one tough bastard  who excelled as an athlete simply because of his focus and tenacity.  Writing is like that too.  It’s really  you against all odds and you’re out to win.  You’ve got to keep your eye on the ball, don’t get distracted by the shouts from the stands or  inner doubt.   

Baseball meant everything to Cobb and he fought for his love of the game.  That was his character and it served him well.  I’ve two things I love and have fought for, my child and writing.  That is my character and it has served me well.  I’ve got my mitt, I’m in the game and like Cobb I’ve had to fight all my life to survive.  Lots of things are against me, but I’ll tell you square, I’m hittin’ this ball outta the park.  It may not be a tie breaking home run, but it’ll  sure make someone run like hell to catch it.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

3 thoughts on “GET A MITT AND GET IN THE GAME”

  1. Hi Val,

    I agree wirh Amy – if writing is in the blood, a part of you – you’ll do it anyway. Commercial success – yes we’d all love it but it is the creative art itself that brings the biggest satisfaction.

    In my own case, the money is more about my dream of not having to be employed by someone else. The older I get the wearier I get of taking the crap that one gets in any job (even though I’m management level). It must be an age thing.

    Good luck and keep writing.

  2. You hit it out of the park today, Val. It’s hard to admit, sometimes, that we truly wish or even silently plead for commercial success. It’s also hard to admit that whether or not we get it is not the end-all-be-all, that we’re going to write anyway. The measure of success isn’t really how or what we do, it’s how we feel.

Leave a Reply

