SOMETIMES THERE IS NO TIME

BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE  

My hands are cold, my muscles ache and I’m tired out from work but I’m determined to fight the good fight and write something!  At the moment I struggle with making time for working on my book and making   money at my meat and pototoes job to keep us afloat.  I’m between a rock and hard place with it all and because of that, I’ve decided to dedicate one day a week to my book:  Sunday.  No interruptions.   I figure, if I do it this way and I occasionally write something during the week on the fly, then out goes the guilt and in comes that feeling of achievement I’ve not had for eons.  One firm commitment and I’m no longer between that rock and hard place.   I’ve missed the solitude and regeneration I derive from spending time with my characters.  Some people meditate to get that calm and others work out at the gym.  I write.   It’s a peculiar irony that such an isolating profession inevitably leads to anything but aloneness.  Hmmm…now that’s something to think about.   One more thing to share:  It snowed here today!  They were just small melting little flakes that disappeared quickly, definitely not scream worthy.   Has anyone else got any snow to report?   Brrrr….baby it’s cold outside.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “SOMETIMES THERE IS NO TIME”

  1. I often find myself between the rock and hard place as well, mine being what I should be doing and what I want to be doing. When the kids and the dogs are in motion I have a hard time thinking I can sit down and close myself off to write, yet sometimes I must and do. Other times I avoid it intentionally.

Leave a Reply

