The Shack

People have an insatiable appetite for violence. They will sit through films that depict murder, rape and torture with vile accuracy. In fact, the percentage of the film going public viewing and gorging on this shit is increasing which means that human beings are dangerously close to losing their sense of the gravity of cruelty as it is dished out to innocent people. How like human beings to sit through  gore and suffering on film, then discuss it for days via social networking sites: “Oh, did you see the new Tarantino movie? It was awesome!”   However, when faced with the horror of those they know, they fall silent, suddenly and inexplicably restrained from expressing anything of worth regarding what they have seen/read. I mention this because it happened to me when I posted the following news link on facebook:  The Shack

I was surprised, not by who acknowledged my post, but by who didn’t. When the suffering and experience of someone you know is not as relevent to you as a fucking Hollywood film, you keep that person isolated and set apart. Not only does the experience of having been the victim of a violent crime leave you feeling fragmented and a shadow of your former self but instantly you are transformed into an outsider who can no longer grasp normalcy or relate to others. You are now defined by memories that alter who you are forever.

Thanks to a handful of people and their non reaction,  I have a newfound acceptance that is surprisingly healing in its own way. I will keep looking in from the outside but this time when I peer through that window I won’t be entertainingg the envy of your safe lives and nightmare free sleeping because I can still cry for others who are not me and who have had it worse. In 2002 I was beaten in the driveway of this shack and my child abducted. In October of 2012 the brother of the violent bastard who abused us, was murdered in that same shack. I would say something clever about history, sick families, apathy and repetition but I think I’ll pass.

5 comments on “The Shack

  1. People do have a thirst for the violence. However, this is nothing new. It just takes a while for some to grow up and see the reality around them. Perhaps some never do… perhaps they are the lucky ones? Forever pure and unblemished by the scars that have been our battle wounds and proof of our lives. You are only too right.

  2. Hello Val,
    I haven’t been here in a long time and I can’t tell you how much I have missed your voice and writings. It only takes the reading of this post to remember why I was here to begin with. This is the voice of what’s real in life unadulterated by the fake bullshit of wanting to belong to something we saw on a commercial. How sad the masses are, Thank you for the balance your writing brings to those caught up in trivial pursuit. I am going take some time now to go through some of your archives while I’ve been away. It is nice to know you are still strong. I am also saddened to hear of your pain and your story bears the truth of “reaping what you sow” and “what goes around comes around” and excuse me for saying so but I lean to the conclusion that it couldn’t have happened to a better person because my heart is with you and your child.

  3. I came to the conclusion some time ago that most of this world in which we live is really corrupt. To keep your sanity you have to hold yourself aloof and refuse to let yourself become bitter and twisted. Accept that justice will be done at some stage and let it go. Until then you won’t have any peace.

  4. There isn’t a press who will touch this or publish it Brad, simply because of the sacred cows involved: Native Americans, The National Centre for Missing and Exploited Children, The Hague Convention on International Child Abduction, The Washington State Justice Department, The Newfoundland Justice system, Child Find, Walmart and The government of Canada. All of them had a good time kicking us in the teeth and the level of corruption when passing the ball around is astounding. The fact is, unless each person who did this to us can be placed in that shack and endure what we did for five years, there can be no justice. xo

  5. Hi Val. I do hope you are continuing to look for a publisher with the guts and foresight to publish your full story. I, for one, genuinely want to read it. It gives me some hope for the notion of natural justice in the world to remind myself often that you and your child survived that experience. xo

Leave a Reply

